Skip to main content
deleted 18 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
Source Link
blackbird
  • 16.9k
  • 7
  • 51
  • 125

used Used VWP only for transit, now want to enter US for 90 days

I'm a frenchFrench citizen with an approved ESTA. 
I was flying from Thailand to Mexico with a 7 hr7hr transit in LA (had to go through border control and get a stamp). Indeed left US after a few hours.

I stay in Mexico for 3 weeks and really want to re-enter US (this time for traveling). 
I'm not planning to work and have enough money (took a1 yra 1yr break from school for this trip-, that's why I want to use my VWP for the max 90 days). 
As I understand, currently I'll have 90 days minus my stay in Mexico for my re-entering.

My questions: 
Is there something I can do/say/show so the border officer will grant me a new stamp for 90 days? 
If so, better go by land or by air? 
If not, is using the automated kiosks can help with something (maybe they give 90 days without messing with the mexicoMexico/candaCanada issue)?

Thank you very much, Alon

used VWP only for transit, now want to enter US for 90 days

I'm a french citizen with an approved ESTA. I was flying from Thailand to Mexico with a 7 hr transit in LA (had to go through border control and get a stamp). Indeed left US after a few hours.

I stay in Mexico for 3 weeks and really want to re-enter US (this time for traveling). I'm not planning to work and have enough money (took a1 yr break from school for this trip- that's why I want to use my VWP for the max 90 days). As I understand, currently I'll have 90 days minus my stay in Mexico for my re-entering.

My questions: Is there something I can do/say/show so the border officer will grant me a new stamp for 90 days? If so, better go by land or by air? If not, is using the automated kiosks can help with something (maybe they give 90 days without messing with the mexico/canda issue)?

Thank you very much, Alon

Used VWP only for transit, now want to enter US for 90 days

I'm a French citizen with an approved ESTA. 
I was flying from Thailand to Mexico with a 7hr transit in LA (had to go through border control and get a stamp). Indeed left US after a few hours.

I stay in Mexico for 3 weeks and really want to re-enter US (this time for traveling). 
I'm not planning to work and have enough money (took a 1yr break from school for this trip, that's why I want to use my VWP for the max 90 days). 
As I understand, currently I'll have 90 days minus my stay in Mexico for my re-entering.

My questions: 
Is there something I can do/say/show so the border officer will grant me a new stamp for 90 days? 
If so, better go by land or by air? 
If not, is using the automated kiosks can help with something (maybe they give 90 days without messing with the Mexico/Canada issue)?

Better Tags
Link
CMaster
  • 13.1k
  • 7
  • 60
  • 101
Tweeted twitter.com/StackTravel/status/697745804879118337
Source Link
alon
  • 61
  • 1

used VWP only for transit, now want to enter US for 90 days

I'm a french citizen with an approved ESTA. I was flying from Thailand to Mexico with a 7 hr transit in LA (had to go through border control and get a stamp). Indeed left US after a few hours.

I stay in Mexico for 3 weeks and really want to re-enter US (this time for traveling). I'm not planning to work and have enough money (took a1 yr break from school for this trip- that's why I want to use my VWP for the max 90 days). As I understand, currently I'll have 90 days minus my stay in Mexico for my re-entering.

My questions: Is there something I can do/say/show so the border officer will grant me a new stamp for 90 days? If so, better go by land or by air? If not, is using the automated kiosks can help with something (maybe they give 90 days without messing with the mexico/canda issue)?

Thank you very much, Alon