Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • 1
    +1 It happened to me too, with Brussels Airlines (a Star Alliance member like Lufthansa). If you have no other options it's worth a shot, although in another occasion I asked an airline (I forgot which one) if I could get a refund by canceling early and their answer was that in order to know whether I can get a refund they'd need to cancel the ticket first, and then [sarcasm ahead] the ticket fairy will pop up and tell them if they can give me some refund; they knew the ticket was not refundable and it's possible that they were trying to trick me into canceling right away (just guessing). Commented Nov 16, 2015 at 10:15
  • @SantiBailors The phone agent probably didn't know, genuinely, whether his system would allow a refund
    – Calchas
    Commented Nov 16, 2015 at 13:41
  • @Calchas Sure, it's a possibility. BTW I decided it was OK to have it canceled anyway, so I told her she could cancel it right away, and unsurprisingly it turned out there was no refund. Commented Nov 16, 2015 at 14:04
  • 5
    @SantiBailors I only say this because most of the telephone agents I speak to know less about air fares than I do. So it is not meant to be a defence of them but a genuine statement that they probably have no idea what they are doing ;)
    – Calchas
    Commented Nov 16, 2015 at 14:22
  • 3
    I have a counter data point with Delta where they told me I can feel free to follow the fare rules to the letter even though the flight was a month out and I only booked it the day before. This was there stance even after I escalated through BBB. If OP is going London to South America they're most likely not on Delta though. Commented Nov 16, 2015 at 14:48