Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
Mark Mayo
  • 159.5k
  • 104
  • 680
  • 1.5k

I have never been to Istanbul but I am planning to go there with the kids. A friend of mine showed me yesterday a video of him buying ice cream from a traditional ice cream shop in Istanbul. He insists that it's a must for the man to do the usual tricks/troll with you before handing you your order.

I don't like that but I don't want to sound rude especially in front of my children. Is it a must from their culture point of view? can I avoid that?

The Wikipedia page for DondurmaWikipedia page for Dondurma doesn't mention anything about it.

enter image description here

The video is here

I have never been to Istanbul but I am planning to go there with the kids. A friend of mine showed me yesterday a video of him buying ice cream from a traditional ice cream shop in Istanbul. He insists that it's a must for the man to do the usual tricks/troll with you before handing you your order.

I don't like that but I don't want to sound rude especially in front of my children. Is it a must from their culture point of view? can I avoid that?

The Wikipedia page for Dondurma doesn't mention anything about it.

enter image description here

The video is here

I have never been to Istanbul but I am planning to go there with the kids. A friend of mine showed me yesterday a video of him buying ice cream from a traditional ice cream shop in Istanbul. He insists that it's a must for the man to do the usual tricks/troll with you before handing you your order.

I don't like that but I don't want to sound rude especially in front of my children. Is it a must from their culture point of view? can I avoid that?

The Wikipedia page for Dondurma doesn't mention anything about it.

enter image description here

The video is here

Notice removed Reward existing answer by Ulkoma
Bounty Ended with Mark Mayo's answer chosen by Ulkoma
Question Protected by mindcorrosive
Notice added Reward existing answer by Ulkoma
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by Ulkoma
Post Reopened by Ulkoma, Kate Gregory, Karlson, Michael Hampton, Gilles 'SO- stop being evil'
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by iHaveacomputer, JonathanReez, CGCampbell, Maître Peseur, VMAtm

I have never been to Istanbul but I am planning to go there with the kids. A friend of mine showed me yesterday a video of him buying ice cream from a traditional ice cream shop in Istanbul. He insists that it's a must for the man to do the usual tricks/troll with you before handing you your order.

I don't like that but I don't want to sound rude especially in front of my children. Is it a must from their culture point of view? can I avoid that?

The Wikipedia page for Dondurma doesn't mention anything about it.

enter image description here

The video is here

I have never been to Istanbul but I am planning to go there with the kids. A friend of mine showed me yesterday a video of him buying ice cream from a traditional ice cream shop in Istanbul. He insists that it's a must for the man to do the usual tricks/troll with you before handing you your order.

I don't like that but I don't want to sound rude especially in front of my children. Is it a must from their culture point of view? can I avoid that?

The Wikipedia page for Dondurma doesn't mention anything about it.

enter image description here

I have never been to Istanbul but I am planning to go there with the kids. A friend of mine showed me yesterday a video of him buying ice cream from a traditional ice cream shop in Istanbul. He insists that it's a must for the man to do the usual tricks/troll with you before handing you your order.

I don't like that but I don't want to sound rude especially in front of my children. Is it a must from their culture point of view? can I avoid that?

The Wikipedia page for Dondurma doesn't mention anything about it.

enter image description here

The video is here

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackTravel/status/636948142483742720
edited tags
Link
JoErNanO
  • 52.7k
  • 18
  • 165
  • 274
edited title
Link
Ulkoma
  • 9.2k
  • 15
  • 58
  • 100
Loading
Source Link
Ulkoma
  • 9.2k
  • 15
  • 58
  • 100
Loading