Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 6
    I'll second this. I actually have walked out from the international departure gate to an area outside--the plane was very late and I wanted food other than what was available in the terminal. There was no check of any kind on the way out and coming back there was nothing but the normal security you would find in any airport. Commented Jan 23, 2013 at 1:36
  • +1 I flew into the USA from Fiji, landed in LA with New York as my final destination. But I had to go through immigration control in LA, collect my checked-in luggage and check in again to board my flight to NY. Commented Mar 17, 2013 at 20:24
  • 13
    @AdityaSomani All arrivals in the US must go through immigration, regardless of whether you are transiting or arriving. There is no way to get to a departing flight from the area where incoming flights arrive except via immigration.
    – Doc
    Commented Mar 27, 2014 at 1:59
  • 1
    @Doc Ahh I understand now. So basically once you leave the arrival after the immigration you MUST have a transit VISA or any other similar document because the departure lounge is unprotected and you can walk out at ease right? I remember what Loren is talking about in a previous comment quite vividly from one of my own experiences in Atlanta as well. Commented Mar 27, 2014 at 2:41
  • 3
    Simple explanation as to why U.S. airports are designed this way: they got there first and now they're the worst.
    – gparyani
    Commented Apr 17, 2018 at 5:05