Skip to main content
replaced http://travel.stackexchange.com/ with https://travel.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I am wondering about the rules for WWOOFing (working in an organic farm for a part of the day in exchange for a bed and sometimes a breakfast/multiple meals) or work exchange (same thing but for other types of tasks) in Costa Rica.

I have read some question heresome question here for long-term residents in Costa Rica wanting to work. This shows that one cannot steal the work of a Costa Rican, in short, which is a rule common to many countries.

However, I would like to visit Costa Rica as a tourist, I will travel for most of my trip but I saw one hostel offering work exchange, a couple hours per day of work in exchange for a bed (I would not get paid). I am thinking it could be a good idea to extend my trip for a couple more days but I do not want to go against the law. It would not be my main activity. Also I do not need a visa as a tourist (I am a French citizen).

I have tried to find information on the WWOOF Costa Rica website but beside saying they do not provide a visa, they do not say if I need a specific visa for work exchange.

So I am wondering, could I do some work exchange (no money received) in Costa Rica as a tourist?

I am wondering about the rules for WWOOFing (working in an organic farm for a part of the day in exchange for a bed and sometimes a breakfast/multiple meals) or work exchange (same thing but for other types of tasks) in Costa Rica.

I have read some question here for long-term residents in Costa Rica wanting to work. This shows that one cannot steal the work of a Costa Rican, in short, which is a rule common to many countries.

However, I would like to visit Costa Rica as a tourist, I will travel for most of my trip but I saw one hostel offering work exchange, a couple hours per day of work in exchange for a bed (I would not get paid). I am thinking it could be a good idea to extend my trip for a couple more days but I do not want to go against the law. It would not be my main activity. Also I do not need a visa as a tourist (I am a French citizen).

I have tried to find information on the WWOOF Costa Rica website but beside saying they do not provide a visa, they do not say if I need a specific visa for work exchange.

So I am wondering, could I do some work exchange (no money received) in Costa Rica as a tourist?

I am wondering about the rules for WWOOFing (working in an organic farm for a part of the day in exchange for a bed and sometimes a breakfast/multiple meals) or work exchange (same thing but for other types of tasks) in Costa Rica.

I have read some question here for long-term residents in Costa Rica wanting to work. This shows that one cannot steal the work of a Costa Rican, in short, which is a rule common to many countries.

However, I would like to visit Costa Rica as a tourist, I will travel for most of my trip but I saw one hostel offering work exchange, a couple hours per day of work in exchange for a bed (I would not get paid). I am thinking it could be a good idea to extend my trip for a couple more days but I do not want to go against the law. It would not be my main activity. Also I do not need a visa as a tourist (I am a French citizen).

I have tried to find information on the WWOOF Costa Rica website but beside saying they do not provide a visa, they do not say if I need a specific visa for work exchange.

So I am wondering, could I do some work exchange (no money received) in Costa Rica as a tourist?

Notice removed Authoritative reference needed by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with no winning answer by CommunityBot
edited body
Source Link
Vince
  • 21k
  • 10
  • 89
  • 146

I am wondering about the rules for wwoofingWWOOFing (working in an organic farm for a part of the day in exchange for a bed and sometimes a breakfast/multiple meals) or work exchange (same thing but for other types of tasks) in Costa Rica.

I have read some question here for long-term residents in Costa Rica wanting to work. This shows that one cannot steal the work of a Costa Rican, in short, which is a rule common to many countries.

However, I would like to visit Costa Rica as a tourist, I will travel for most of my trip but I saw one hostel offering work exchange, a couple hours per day of work in exchange for a bed (I would not get paid). I am thinking it could be a good idea to extend my trip for a couple more days but I do not want to go against the law. It would not be my main activity. Also I do not need a visa as a tourist (I am a French citizen).

I have tried to find information on the wwoofingWWOOF Costa Rica website but beside saying they do not provide a visa, they do not say if I need a specific visa for work exchange.

So I am wondering, could I do some work exchange (no money received) in Costa Rica as a tourist?

I am wondering about the rules for wwoofing (working in an organic farm for a part of the day in exchange for a bed and sometimes a breakfast/multiple meals) or work exchange (same thing but for other types of tasks) in Costa Rica.

I have read some question here for long-term residents in Costa Rica wanting to work. This shows that one cannot steal the work of a Costa Rican, in short, which is a rule common to many countries.

However, I would like to visit Costa Rica as a tourist, I will travel for most of my trip but I saw one hostel offering work exchange, a couple hours per day of work in exchange for a bed (I would not get paid). I am thinking it could be a good idea to extend my trip for a couple more days but I do not want to go against the law. It would not be my main activity. Also I do not need a visa as a tourist (I am a French citizen).

I have tried to find information on the wwoofing Costa Rica website but beside saying they do not provide a visa, they do not say if I need a specific visa for work exchange.

So I am wondering, could I do some work exchange (no money received) in Costa Rica as a tourist?

I am wondering about the rules for WWOOFing (working in an organic farm for a part of the day in exchange for a bed and sometimes a breakfast/multiple meals) or work exchange (same thing but for other types of tasks) in Costa Rica.

I have read some question here for long-term residents in Costa Rica wanting to work. This shows that one cannot steal the work of a Costa Rican, in short, which is a rule common to many countries.

However, I would like to visit Costa Rica as a tourist, I will travel for most of my trip but I saw one hostel offering work exchange, a couple hours per day of work in exchange for a bed (I would not get paid). I am thinking it could be a good idea to extend my trip for a couple more days but I do not want to go against the law. It would not be my main activity. Also I do not need a visa as a tourist (I am a French citizen).

I have tried to find information on the WWOOF Costa Rica website but beside saying they do not provide a visa, they do not say if I need a specific visa for work exchange.

So I am wondering, could I do some work exchange (no money received) in Costa Rica as a tourist?

Notice added Authoritative reference needed by Vince
Bounty Started worth 100 reputation by Vince
Notice removed Draw attention by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with no winning answer by CommunityBot
added quick summary for wwoof/work exchange
Source Link
Vince
  • 21k
  • 10
  • 89
  • 146

I am wondering about the rules for wwoofing (working in an organic farm for a part of the day in exchange for a bed and sometimes a breakfast/multiple meals) or work exchange (same thing but for other types of tasks) in Costa Rica.

I have read some question here for long-term residents in Costa Rica wanting to work. This shows that one cannot steal the work of a Costa Rican, in short, which is a rule common to many countries.

However, I would like to visit Costa Rica as a tourist, I will travel for most of my trip but I saw one hostel offering work exchange, a couple hours per day of work in exchange for a bed (I would not get paid). I am thinking it could be a good idea to extend my trip for a couple more days but I do not want to go against the law. It would not be my main activity. Also I do not need a visa as a tourist (I am a French citizen).

I have tried to find information on the wwoofing Costa Rica website but beside saying they do not provide a visa, they do not say if I need a specific visa for work exchange.

So I am wondering, could I do some work exchange (no money received) in Costa Rica as a tourist?

I have read some question here for long-term residents in Costa Rica wanting to work. This shows that one cannot steal the work of a Costa Rican, in short, which is a rule common to many countries.

However, I would like to visit Costa Rica as a tourist, I will travel for most of my trip but I saw one hostel offering work exchange, a couple hours per day of work in exchange for a bed (I would not get paid). I am thinking it could be a good idea to extend my trip for a couple more days but I do not want to go against the law. It would not be my main activity. Also I do not need a visa as a tourist (I am a French citizen).

I have tried to find information on the wwoofing Costa Rica website but beside saying they do not provide a visa, they do not say if I need a specific visa for work exchange.

So I am wondering, could I do some work exchange (no money received) in Costa Rica as a tourist?

I am wondering about the rules for wwoofing (working in an organic farm for a part of the day in exchange for a bed and sometimes a breakfast/multiple meals) or work exchange (same thing but for other types of tasks) in Costa Rica.

I have read some question here for long-term residents in Costa Rica wanting to work. This shows that one cannot steal the work of a Costa Rican, in short, which is a rule common to many countries.

However, I would like to visit Costa Rica as a tourist, I will travel for most of my trip but I saw one hostel offering work exchange, a couple hours per day of work in exchange for a bed (I would not get paid). I am thinking it could be a good idea to extend my trip for a couple more days but I do not want to go against the law. It would not be my main activity. Also I do not need a visa as a tourist (I am a French citizen).

I have tried to find information on the wwoofing Costa Rica website but beside saying they do not provide a visa, they do not say if I need a specific visa for work exchange.

So I am wondering, could I do some work exchange (no money received) in Costa Rica as a tourist?

Notice added Draw attention by Vince
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by Vince
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackTravel/status/555069564225331200
edited tags
Link
Dirty-flow
  • 14.7k
  • 17
  • 68
  • 126
Loading
Source Link
Vince
  • 21k
  • 10
  • 89
  • 146
Loading