Skip to main content

Timeline for Entering the USA by land border

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 31, 2017 at 3:07 comment added phoog @DJClayworth more precisely, the $6 is the fee for the I-94 form.
Sep 6, 2017 at 13:05 comment added DJClayworth @MarkMayo You seem to be using ESTA to mean VWP. ESTA is irrelevant if you arrive by land. The "$6 and a stamp for 5 mins" isn't a visa, it's getting admitted on the VWP.
Nov 12, 2014 at 7:27 comment added Mark Mayo @martin the ESTA actually DOES cover you if you arrive by land WITHIN 90 days of an ESTA flight, is what I was getting at. As you're not doing a flight first (eg exiting to Canada from US then returning) you'll need the visa with I94W, and that's done for $6 at the land border, as in my second point above.
Nov 12, 2014 at 6:49 comment added martin Thanks for the reply. However, I don't think ESTA will apply at all. For land borders they still use I-94W. I can't apply for ESTA as I will not arrive by air.
Nov 11, 2014 at 22:40 history answered Mark Mayo CC BY-SA 3.0