Skip to main content
removed unsubstantiated claim
Source Link
Aditya Somani
  • 10.3k
  • 9
  • 52
  • 88

I have heard this "fact" many times. Another version states that this is especially true in the summer.

I was on a trip to Italy only last month and visited Venice as part of it. I spent three days there, took vaporettos (ferries) and walked most of the time. The water ways and canals do host a wide variety of algae and water-weeds and it is indeed true that you occasionally get a whiff of "algae-odor" when the wind's right and you happen to be on the side of some particular water-ways or canals.

It smelt different to me but not bad. However, stating this as a reason for not going to Venice is as lame as saying one should not go to Chicago because of high crime rate and mugging incidentsalmost laughable.

I have heard this "fact" many times. Another version states that this is especially true in the summer.

I was on a trip to Italy only last month and visited Venice as part of it. I spent three days there, took vaporettos (ferries) and walked most of the time. The water ways and canals do host a wide variety of algae and water-weeds and it is indeed true that you occasionally get a whiff of "algae-odor" when the wind's right and you happen to be on the side of some particular water-ways or canals.

It smelt different to me but not bad. However, stating this as a reason for not going to Venice is as lame as saying one should not go to Chicago because of high crime rate and mugging incidents.

I have heard this "fact" many times. Another version states that this is especially true in the summer.

I was on a trip to Italy only last month and visited Venice as part of it. I spent three days there, took vaporettos (ferries) and walked most of the time. The water ways and canals do host a wide variety of algae and water-weeds and it is indeed true that you occasionally get a whiff of "algae-odor" when the wind's right and you happen to be on the side of some particular water-ways or canals.

It smelt different to me but not bad. However, stating this as a reason for not going to Venice is almost laughable.

Added paragraph breaks.
Source Link
user82
user82

I have heard this "fact" many times. Another version states that this is especially true in the summer. 

I was on a trip to Italy only last month and visited Venice as part of it. I spent three days there, took vaporettos vaporettos (ferries) and walked most of the time. The water ways and canals do host a wide variety of algae and water-weeds and it is indeed true that you occasionally get a whiff of "algae-odor" when the wind's right and you happen to be on the side of some particular water-ways or canals. 

It smelt different to me but not bad. However, stating this as a reason for not going to Venice is as lame as saying one should not go to Chicago because of high crime rate and mugging incidents.

I have heard this "fact" many times. Another version states that this is especially true in the summer. I was on a trip to Italy only last month and visited Venice as part of it. I spent three days there, took vaporettos (ferries) and walked most of the time. The water ways and canals do host a wide variety of algae and water-weeds and it is indeed true that you occasionally get a whiff of "algae-odor" when the wind's right and you happen to be on the side of some particular water-ways or canals. It smelt different to me but not bad. However, stating this as a reason for not going to Venice is as lame as saying one should not go to Chicago because of high crime rate and mugging incidents.

I have heard this "fact" many times. Another version states that this is especially true in the summer. 

I was on a trip to Italy only last month and visited Venice as part of it. I spent three days there, took vaporettos (ferries) and walked most of the time. The water ways and canals do host a wide variety of algae and water-weeds and it is indeed true that you occasionally get a whiff of "algae-odor" when the wind's right and you happen to be on the side of some particular water-ways or canals. 

It smelt different to me but not bad. However, stating this as a reason for not going to Venice is as lame as saying one should not go to Chicago because of high crime rate and mugging incidents.

added 81 characters in body
Source Link
Prometheus
  • 3.3k
  • 3
  • 21
  • 27

I have heard this "fact" many times. Another version states that this is especially true in the summer. I was on a trip to Italy only last month and visited Venice as part of it. I spent three days there, took vaporettos (ferries) and walked most of the time. The water ways and canals do host a wide variety of algae and water-weeds and it is indeed true that you occasionally get a whiff of "algae-odor" when the wind's right and you happen to be on the side of some particular water-ways or canals. It smelt different to me but not bad. However, stating this as a reason for not going to Venice is as lame as saying one should not go to Chicago because of high crime rate and mugging incidents.

I have heard this "fact" many times. Another version states that this is especially true in the summer. I was on a trip to Italy only last month and visited Venice as part of it. The water ways and canals do host a wide variety of algae and water-weeds and it is indeed true that you occasionally get a whiff of "algae-odor" when the wind's right and you happen to be on the side of some particular water-ways or canals. It smelt different to me but not bad. However, stating this as a reason for not going to Venice is as lame as saying one should not go to Chicago because of high crime rate and mugging incidents.

I have heard this "fact" many times. Another version states that this is especially true in the summer. I was on a trip to Italy only last month and visited Venice as part of it. I spent three days there, took vaporettos (ferries) and walked most of the time. The water ways and canals do host a wide variety of algae and water-weeds and it is indeed true that you occasionally get a whiff of "algae-odor" when the wind's right and you happen to be on the side of some particular water-ways or canals. It smelt different to me but not bad. However, stating this as a reason for not going to Venice is as lame as saying one should not go to Chicago because of high crime rate and mugging incidents.

Source Link
Prometheus
  • 3.3k
  • 3
  • 21
  • 27
Loading