Skip to main content
remove the word "tiny". i think the georgian expat community in thessaloniki is significant
Source Link
hippietrail
  • 79.5k
  • 54
  • 273
  • 628

Well I'm worried the bad weather has set in and I have to switch from hitchhiking to public transport. I know there are buses from Istanbul to Tbilisi but I wonder if there might even be a direct bus connection from somewhere in Greece to Tbilisi since it seems to have a tiny Georgian expat community.

So far I can't find anything with my Internet searches but maybe there are some secrets to be discovered by searching in Greek or Russian?

I've found mention on Lonely Planet's website that there are indeed buses from Thessaloniki to Tbilisi - but no details.

For the truly hardy, several companies run buses to Thessaloniki and Athens (€100) from Ortachala.

Elsewhere on the Lonely Planet Thorn Tree there are some comments with more tidbits but no details:

djpeanut: A friend of mine took it at the end of last year. Not that amazing really.

fluffy_bunny: I had thought there were buses from Didube (Neo-turs). But the price of $100 0r so is about right. The trip takes about 2 days.

Can anybody find times, prices, companies, departure points, any juicy details I might need?

Well I'm worried the bad weather has set in and I have to switch from hitchhiking to public transport. I know there are buses from Istanbul to Tbilisi but I wonder if there might even be a direct bus connection from somewhere in Greece to Tbilisi since it seems to have a tiny Georgian expat community.

So far I can't find anything with my Internet searches but maybe there are some secrets to be discovered by searching in Greek or Russian?

I've found mention on Lonely Planet's website that there are indeed buses from Thessaloniki to Tbilisi - but no details.

For the truly hardy, several companies run buses to Thessaloniki and Athens (€100) from Ortachala.

Elsewhere on the Lonely Planet Thorn Tree there are some comments with more tidbits but no details:

djpeanut: A friend of mine took it at the end of last year. Not that amazing really.

fluffy_bunny: I had thought there were buses from Didube (Neo-turs). But the price of $100 0r so is about right. The trip takes about 2 days.

Can anybody find times, prices, companies, departure points, any juicy details I might need?

Well I'm worried the bad weather has set in and I have to switch from hitchhiking to public transport. I know there are buses from Istanbul to Tbilisi but I wonder if there might even be a direct bus connection from somewhere in Greece to Tbilisi since it seems to have a Georgian expat community.

So far I can't find anything with my Internet searches but maybe there are some secrets to be discovered by searching in Greek or Russian?

I've found mention on Lonely Planet's website that there are indeed buses from Thessaloniki to Tbilisi - but no details.

For the truly hardy, several companies run buses to Thessaloniki and Athens (€100) from Ortachala.

Elsewhere on the Lonely Planet Thorn Tree there are some comments with more tidbits but no details:

djpeanut: A friend of mine took it at the end of last year. Not that amazing really.

fluffy_bunny: I had thought there were buses from Didube (Neo-turs). But the price of $100 0r so is about right. The trip takes about 2 days.

Can anybody find times, prices, companies, departure points, any juicy details I might need?

reword title to differentiate from the newer question asking about the opposite direction
Link
hippietrail
  • 79.5k
  • 54
  • 273
  • 628

What are the bus (coach) connections betweenfrom Thessaloniki, Greece andto Tbilisi, Georgia?

Notice removed Improve details by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with no winning answer by CommunityBot
edited tags
Link
hippietrail
  • 79.5k
  • 54
  • 273
  • 628
more morsels from lonely planet's site
Source Link
hippietrail
  • 79.5k
  • 54
  • 273
  • 628
Loading
Notice added Improve details by hippietrail
Bounty Started worth 250 reputation by hippietrail
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackTravel/status/125013934607564800
found that a bus exists but still need details
Source Link
hippietrail
  • 79.5k
  • 54
  • 273
  • 628
Loading
Source Link
hippietrail
  • 79.5k
  • 54
  • 273
  • 628
Loading