Skip to main content
deleted 26 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
phoog
  • 135.4k
  • 19
  • 277
  • 454

ESTA or VISAvisa after past arrest and NFA (for a non CIMT offence)

I am in a situation when I was previously arrested in the UK around 6 years ago and released with "no further action" (NFA) as the outcome. The reason given for the arrest was common assault/ batterybattery based on a malicious false allegation of my ex.

Given the conflicting information available online about ESTA/ VISAvisa in such situations, do you suggest that I would qualify for travel to the US under the VWP with an ESTA?

Can someone please suggest what would be the best course of action i.e. applying ESTA or going via Visavisa route as unknowingly I have an already booked travel in near future and believe the visa wait times are quite longer though meanwhile, I have also applied for ACRO police certificate in case a visa route is required?

In case if I have to travel again or emigrate to the US in future, therefore I am bit cautious and don’t want to jeopardise any future travel. Any prompt response on my query would be really appreciated.

Many Thanks in advance.

ESTA or VISA after past arrest and NFA (for a non CIMT offence)

I am in situation when I was previously arrested in the UK around 6 years ago and released with "no further action" (NFA) as the outcome. The reason given for the arrest was common assault/ battery based on malicious false allegation of my ex.

Given the conflicting information available online about ESTA/ VISA in such situations, do you suggest that I would qualify for travel to the US under the VWP with an ESTA?

Can someone please suggest what would be the best course of action i.e. applying ESTA or going via Visa route as unknowingly I have an already booked travel in near future and believe the visa wait times are quite longer though meanwhile, I have also applied for ACRO police certificate in case a visa route is required?

In case if I have to travel again or emigrate to the US in future, therefore I am bit cautious and don’t want to jeopardise any future travel. Any prompt response on my query would be really appreciated.

Many Thanks in advance.

ESTA or visa after past arrest and NFA (for a non CIMT offence)

I am in a situation when I was previously arrested in the UK around 6 years ago and released with "no further action" (NFA) as the outcome. The reason given for the arrest was common assault/battery based on a malicious false allegation of my ex.

Given the conflicting information available online about ESTA/visa in such situations, do you suggest that I would qualify for travel to the US under the VWP with an ESTA?

Can someone please suggest what would be the best course of action i.e. applying ESTA or going via visa route as unknowingly I have an already booked travel in near future and believe the visa wait times are quite longer though meanwhile, I have also applied for ACRO police certificate in case a visa route is required?

In case if I have to travel again or emigrate to the US in future, therefore I am bit cautious and don’t want to jeopardise any future travel. Any prompt response on my query would be really appreciated.

edited tags
Link
Traveller
  • 35.6k
  • 4
  • 56
  • 141
Source Link

ESTA or VISA after past arrest and NFA (for a non CIMT offence)

I'm a UK citizen looking to travel to the US for the second time. I earlier travelled to the US almost 12 years back on a different passport on a B1/B2 visa before acquiring UK nationality.

I have been reading about the entry requirements on multiple forums and I am seeing multiple conflicting rules/advice from different places regarding whether or not I may be eligible to apply for an ESTA to travel under the Visa Waiver Program.

I am in situation when I was previously arrested in the UK around 6 years ago and released with "no further action" (NFA) as the outcome. The reason given for the arrest was common assault/ battery based on malicious false allegation of my ex.

I believe that I meet all other requirements to travel under the VWP using an ESTA

Advice re: non eligibility to travel under the VWP using an ESTA while being arrested in the past:

  • On the UK Government's website it is stated "You cannot apply for an ESTA visa waiver if you: have been arrested (even if the arrest did not result in a criminal conviction)"

  • The website of the US Embassy & Consulate in the UK states: "We do not recommend that travelers who have been arrested, even if the arrest did not result in a criminal conviction, [...], attempt to travel visa free under the Visa Waiver Program."

  • The US Department of State's Bureau of Consular Affairs website lists the requirements for using the VWP. It does not mention anything about arrests.

  • The FAQs of the US Customs and Border Protection website indicates that the traveller will be asked eligibility questions only about arrests and convictions for certain crimes

  • Under the section "Who is eligible to submit an application?" in the FAQs of the ESTA area of the US Customers and Border protection website, I seem to again meet all of the requirements. Nowhere is an arrest record mentioned.

  • ESTA application asks only about arrests or convictions for crimes that resulted in serious damage to property, or serious harm to another person or a government authority.

Context

Aside from the aforementioned arrest, I'd likely be considered to be in good standing in most aspects of life.

I hold a Master’s degree and work as a skilled professional in the UK from last 17 years and work with a multinational corporate with global presence and offices in the UK. I have a good credit rating and good standing in the community etc.

I would like to proceed with honesty and in good faith and I have no intention of misrepresenting anything.

I have checked rules specified under 9FAM 302.3 (U) INELIGIBILITY BASED ON CRIMINAL ACTIVITY, CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS AND RELATED ACTIVITIES - INA 212(A)(2), given as in my case the alleged offence was Common Assault - Summarily Only / BATTERY with disposal as NFA and no other aggravating factors, there was no injury and no weapons, no harm, no admissions etc. and was released same day after interview.

I have no charges, cautions, convictions, warnings, reprimands or criminal record.

Though I would prefer applying for an ESTA as the travel is scheduled in next 4-5 weeks, while answering "no" to that specific eligibility question of serious harm as I do not believe that I would need to answer affirmatively but I am really unclear due to the conflicting information available.

(I have a past SAR from ACRO with PNC record and also the police report of alleged incident) and having checked INA rules my understanding (IMO only) it doesn't falls under CIMT and will be equivalent to simple assault under US immigration law) Question

Given the conflicting information available online about ESTA/ VISA in such situations, do you suggest that I would qualify for travel to the US under the VWP with an ESTA?

Can someone please suggest what would be the best course of action i.e. applying ESTA or going via Visa route as unknowingly I have an already booked travel in near future and believe the visa wait times are quite longer though meanwhile, I have also applied for ACRO police certificate in case a visa route is required?

Although I think I can apply ‘NO’ to the specific eligibility question re: serious harm on ESTA form but any confusion/misunderstanding at my part can be construed as dishonesty and then will create a future travel problems.

In case if I have to travel again or emigrate to the US in future, therefore I am bit cautious and don’t want to jeopardise any future travel. Any prompt response on my query would be really appreciated.

Many Thanks in advance.