Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Mark Johnson
  • 29.8k
  • 3
  • 50
  • 116
Source Link

Is there a Schengen equivalent of a Redress Control Number?

I recently learnt that I have the same first name, last name and birthdate as someone who has been banned from entering the Schengen area.

According to a border police officer, this will cause me to be sent to secondary screening at passport control basically any single time I cross the Schengen border. It has already happened twice (that's how I learnt about the unfortunate coincidence) and both times it resolved with a short wait until the misunderstanding was cleared up and I was let go. It happened at Amsterdam airport.

I am worried that at other points of entry the treatment might be less amicable and/or the waits will be longer. This would be particularly unfortunate if I have a connecting flight which I might miss if detained at passport control. (Related question)

I would like to solve the problem once and for all. I understand that in the U.S. there is a "Redress Control Number" for situations like this. For as much as I am searching the web, I cannot find anything similar for the Schengen area.

Is there anything I can do to, perhaps, match my passport with my real identity? Something that will clearly signal to the immigration authorities that I am myself and not my evil doppelganger? Ideally this would let me pass immigration without going into secondary screening or even using the automated machines.

For reference, my nationality is Italian and my country of residence is Spain. I have a biometric passport issued by Italy.