Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 1
    Thanks for your answer. I contacted the airline (KLM) but they were of no help. I will try asking the question you suggest to the officer tomorrow. I will be back with updates. Commented Jun 13, 2023 at 15:57
  • Ask the staff on the plane, maybe they can do something which the office is not willing to commit to. (It can not hurt and might help.)
    – Willeke
    Commented Jun 13, 2023 at 16:06
  • @Willeke: It can't hurt but unlikely to help. Staff on the plane typically doesn't deal with anything happening on the ground. Once I saw my bag still standing on the tarmac next to the plane just before departure. I alerted a flight attendant "hey. this is my bag, could you make sure it's loaded or let me know if there is a problem?" They gave a look of annoyance that clearly said "I'm working on the plane, how on earth is that my problem? ". They mumbled something unintelligible and walked off. Of course, my bag didn't make it.
    – Hilmar
    Commented Jun 14, 2023 at 12:33
  • Hi! I can confirm that, indeed, flight attendants could not really arrange anything. What they did do, because we were departing ~15min late, was to ask the captain the estimated arrival time and the captain made sure to give more-frequent-than-usual updates on the estimated delay on arrival over the interphone. So, as far as KLM was concerned, I did not manage to arrange anything on the ground. I will update the question and accept this answer. Commented Jun 21, 2023 at 15:19
  • "I don't think they can ban citizens from entering (regardless of name and birth date)": an EU country can indeed refuse to admit a citizen of another EU country under certain limited circumstances as provided in directive 2004/38/EC.
    – phoog
    Commented Jun 21, 2023 at 17:02