Skip to main content
Question Protected by phoog
Fixed citizen type
Source Link
Peter M
  • 15.5k
  • 1
  • 52
  • 70

I've checked many old threads here but nobody has approached this specific scenario.

I recently became a nationalizednaturalized American, it happened within 4 weeks of applying so was shocked and never considered the implications. Not least being offered the a naturalization ceremony 20 mins after the approval interview.

I'm a French and now a US citizen who had a greencard and Global entry, the day I "became American" I had my greencard taken away, but had a flight to Germany that night. Which I had to take for family reasons.

That day, while in the US, I rushed to get my passport processed over the holidays, but expect it will be done in 5 weeks time.

So I'm now in Germany, as a French passport holder, as a US citizen, with no US Passport, and I'm due to return to USA for a vital business meeting in 2 weeks time.

It seems LIKELY I can apply for an ESTA, say I'm not a US citizen, get the ESTA, board the plane and try global entry to sneak in, or the worst case, get denied on Global entry, speak to a CPB border official, show my passport application and copy of my naturalization certificate, and it seems while I've broken the law, there is no penalty possible. Is there a penalty for lying on my ESTA?

If I try this, what is the worst that can happen? Pay a Fine? Denied entry and attempt later? - seems unlikely as I have good documentation? Citizenship taken away? etc

My other option is to try to get into Embassy in Paris, get urgent appointment, show a copy of naturalization certificate (not allowable) and get my first passport issued urgently, and then travel on this. This seems unlikely.

Or wait in US for first passport to be sent, with means missing out on vital business meetings which will impact my company a lot.

EDIT/UPDATE Thanks for all your help, in the end I got an emergency travel appointment in the US embassy and got awarded my first passport, an emergency passport in about 15 mins. I was amazed.

I've checked many old threads here but nobody has approached this specific scenario.

I recently became a nationalized American, it happened within 4 weeks of applying so was shocked and never considered the implications. Not least being offered the a naturalization ceremony 20 mins after the approval interview.

I'm a French and now a US citizen who had a greencard and Global entry, the day I "became American" I had my greencard taken away, but had a flight to Germany that night. Which I had to take for family reasons.

That day, while in the US, I rushed to get my passport processed over the holidays, but expect it will be done in 5 weeks time.

So I'm now in Germany, as a French passport holder, as a US citizen, with no US Passport, and I'm due to return to USA for a vital business meeting in 2 weeks time.

It seems LIKELY I can apply for an ESTA, say I'm not a US citizen, get the ESTA, board the plane and try global entry to sneak in, or the worst case, get denied on Global entry, speak to a CPB border official, show my passport application and copy of my naturalization certificate, and it seems while I've broken the law, there is no penalty possible. Is there a penalty for lying on my ESTA?

If I try this, what is the worst that can happen? Pay a Fine? Denied entry and attempt later? - seems unlikely as I have good documentation? Citizenship taken away? etc

My other option is to try to get into Embassy in Paris, get urgent appointment, show a copy of naturalization certificate (not allowable) and get my first passport issued urgently, and then travel on this. This seems unlikely.

Or wait in US for first passport to be sent, with means missing out on vital business meetings which will impact my company a lot.

EDIT/UPDATE Thanks for all your help, in the end I got an emergency travel appointment in the US embassy and got awarded my first passport, an emergency passport in about 15 mins. I was amazed.

I've checked many old threads here but nobody has approached this specific scenario.

I recently became a naturalized American, it happened within 4 weeks of applying so was shocked and never considered the implications. Not least being offered the a naturalization ceremony 20 mins after the approval interview.

I'm a French and now a US citizen who had a greencard and Global entry, the day I "became American" I had my greencard taken away, but had a flight to Germany that night. Which I had to take for family reasons.

That day, while in the US, I rushed to get my passport processed over the holidays, but expect it will be done in 5 weeks time.

So I'm now in Germany, as a French passport holder, as a US citizen, with no US Passport, and I'm due to return to USA for a vital business meeting in 2 weeks time.

It seems LIKELY I can apply for an ESTA, say I'm not a US citizen, get the ESTA, board the plane and try global entry to sneak in, or the worst case, get denied on Global entry, speak to a CPB border official, show my passport application and copy of my naturalization certificate, and it seems while I've broken the law, there is no penalty possible. Is there a penalty for lying on my ESTA?

If I try this, what is the worst that can happen? Pay a Fine? Denied entry and attempt later? - seems unlikely as I have good documentation? Citizenship taken away? etc

My other option is to try to get into Embassy in Paris, get urgent appointment, show a copy of naturalization certificate (not allowable) and get my first passport issued urgently, and then travel on this. This seems unlikely.

Or wait in US for first passport to be sent, with means missing out on vital business meetings which will impact my company a lot.

EDIT/UPDATE Thanks for all your help, in the end I got an emergency travel appointment in the US embassy and got awarded my first passport, an emergency passport in about 15 mins. I was amazed.

added 199 characters in body
Source Link
newbie1001
  • 519
  • 3
  • 6

I've checked many old threads here but nobody has approached this specific scenario.

I recently became a nationalized American, it happened within 4 weeks of applying so was shocked and never considered the implications. Not least being offered the a naturalization ceremony 20 mins after the approval interview.

I'm a French and now a US citizen who had a greencard and Global entry, the day I "became American" I had my greencard taken away, but had a flight to Germany that night. Which I had to take for family reasons.

That day, while in the US, I rushed to get my passport processed over the holidays, but expect it will be done in 5 weeks time.

So I'm now in Germany, as a French passport holder, as a US citizen, with no US Passport, and I'm due to return to USA for a vital business meeting in 2 weeks time.

It seems LIKELY I can apply for an ESTA, say I'm not a US citizen, get the ESTA, board the plane and try global entry to sneak in, or the worst case, get denied on Global entry, speak to a CPB border official, show my passport application and copy of my naturalization certificate, and it seems while I've broken the law, there is no penalty possible. Is there a penalty for lying on my ESTA?

If I try this, what is the worst that can happen? Pay a Fine? Denied entry and attempt later? - seems unlikely as I have good documentation? Citizenship taken away? etc

My other option is to try to get into Embassy in Paris, get urgent appointment, show a copy of naturalization certificate (not allowable) and get my first passport issued urgently, and then travel on this. This seems unlikely.

Or wait in US for first passport to be sent, with means missing out on vital business meetings which will impact my company a lot.

EDIT/UPDATE Thanks for all your help, in the end I got an emergency travel appointment in the US embassy and got awarded my first passport, an emergency passport in about 15 mins. I was amazed.

I've checked many old threads here but nobody has approached this specific scenario.

I recently became a nationalized American, it happened within 4 weeks of applying so was shocked and never considered the implications. Not least being offered the a naturalization ceremony 20 mins after the approval interview.

I'm a French and now a US citizen who had a greencard and Global entry, the day I "became American" I had my greencard taken away, but had a flight to Germany that night. Which I had to take for family reasons.

That day, while in the US, I rushed to get my passport processed over the holidays, but expect it will be done in 5 weeks time.

So I'm now in Germany, as a French passport holder, as a US citizen, with no US Passport, and I'm due to return to USA for a vital business meeting in 2 weeks time.

It seems LIKELY I can apply for an ESTA, say I'm not a US citizen, get the ESTA, board the plane and try global entry to sneak in, or the worst case, get denied on Global entry, speak to a CPB border official, show my passport application and copy of my naturalization certificate, and it seems while I've broken the law, there is no penalty possible. Is there a penalty for lying on my ESTA?

If I try this, what is the worst that can happen? Pay a Fine? Denied entry and attempt later? - seems unlikely as I have good documentation? Citizenship taken away? etc

My other option is to try to get into Embassy in Paris, get urgent appointment, show a copy of naturalization certificate (not allowable) and get my first passport issued urgently, and then travel on this. This seems unlikely.

Or wait in US for first passport to be sent, with means missing out on vital business meetings which will impact my company a lot.

I've checked many old threads here but nobody has approached this specific scenario.

I recently became a nationalized American, it happened within 4 weeks of applying so was shocked and never considered the implications. Not least being offered the a naturalization ceremony 20 mins after the approval interview.

I'm a French and now a US citizen who had a greencard and Global entry, the day I "became American" I had my greencard taken away, but had a flight to Germany that night. Which I had to take for family reasons.

That day, while in the US, I rushed to get my passport processed over the holidays, but expect it will be done in 5 weeks time.

So I'm now in Germany, as a French passport holder, as a US citizen, with no US Passport, and I'm due to return to USA for a vital business meeting in 2 weeks time.

It seems LIKELY I can apply for an ESTA, say I'm not a US citizen, get the ESTA, board the plane and try global entry to sneak in, or the worst case, get denied on Global entry, speak to a CPB border official, show my passport application and copy of my naturalization certificate, and it seems while I've broken the law, there is no penalty possible. Is there a penalty for lying on my ESTA?

If I try this, what is the worst that can happen? Pay a Fine? Denied entry and attempt later? - seems unlikely as I have good documentation? Citizenship taken away? etc

My other option is to try to get into Embassy in Paris, get urgent appointment, show a copy of naturalization certificate (not allowable) and get my first passport issued urgently, and then travel on this. This seems unlikely.

Or wait in US for first passport to be sent, with means missing out on vital business meetings which will impact my company a lot.

EDIT/UPDATE Thanks for all your help, in the end I got an emergency travel appointment in the US embassy and got awarded my first passport, an emergency passport in about 15 mins. I was amazed.

Adding US-Citizens tag since the OP is now a US citizen and this fact is crucial to the question
Link
Robert Columbia
  • 7.7k
  • 5
  • 32
  • 62
Fixing typos
Source Link
Relaxed
  • 108.8k
  • 10
  • 237
  • 394
Loading
edited tags
Link
Franck Dernoncourt
  • 58.1k
  • 31
  • 200
  • 378
Loading
Became Hot Network Question
Tweeted twitter.com/StackTravel/status/1605941228868177926
Source Link
newbie1001
  • 519
  • 3
  • 6
Loading