Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackTravel/status/1548819913917218817
Became Hot Network Question
added 12 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
DJClayworth
  • 67.6k
  • 10
  • 174
  • 239

Travel from LHRLondon to Mexico City with stop in Dallas, Texas

I plan to travel from London to Mexico city on 31st August. Looking at flights American airlines seems to be cheapest option. However I am very confused at the stopover in Texas Dallas / Fort Worth.

I rang American airlines to ask the question will my luggage be checked all the way through from LHR (London Heathrow) to Mexico City without me having to go through customs, but the response I have received is confusing. American airlines say no, i just need to go through to different terminal. However Dallas airport say I need to claim my luggage and go through customs again to recheck in my bag?? The stop over time in Dallas is only 1 hour 59 minutes. How on earth is this enough time to wait for my luggage from first leg of flight and re check in?

Furtheremore British Airways have said something different (since you can book American Airlines through them too) - they say I will have to get my luggage again to recheck in.

Secondly what kind of ESTA do I need? I have an approved ESTA but in the question : 'are you landing in USA for transit' I have put 'yes' - but if I have to claim my luggage and go through customs doesn't this mean I leave the airport?? Therefore making my ESTA redunant.

If anyone from UK has taken this journey any insight into the above would be appreciated.

Travel from LHR to Mexico City with stop in Dallas, Texas

I plan to travel to Mexico city on 31st August. Looking at flights American airlines seems to be cheapest option. However I am very confused at the stopover in Texas Dallas / Fort Worth.

I rang American airlines to ask the question will my luggage be checked all the way through from LHR (London Heathrow) to Mexico City without me having to go through customs, but the response I have received is confusing. American airlines say no, i just need to go through to different terminal. However Dallas airport say I need to claim my luggage and go through customs again to recheck in my bag?? The stop over time in Dallas is only 1 hour 59 minutes. How on earth is this enough time to wait for my luggage from first leg of flight and re check in?

Furtheremore British Airways have said something different (since you can book American Airlines through them too) - they say I will have to get my luggage again to recheck in.

Secondly what kind of ESTA do I need? I have an approved ESTA but in the question : 'are you landing in USA for transit' I have put 'yes' - but if I have to claim my luggage and go through customs doesn't this mean I leave the airport?? Therefore making my ESTA redunant.

If anyone from UK has taken this journey any insight into the above would be appreciated.

Travel from London to Mexico City with stop in Dallas, Texas

I plan to travel from London to Mexico city on 31st August. Looking at flights American airlines seems to be cheapest option. However I am very confused at the stopover in Texas Dallas / Fort Worth.

I rang American airlines to ask the question will my luggage be checked all the way through from LHR (London Heathrow) to Mexico City without me having to go through customs, but the response I have received is confusing. American airlines say no, i just need to go through to different terminal. However Dallas airport say I need to claim my luggage and go through customs again to recheck in my bag?? The stop over time in Dallas is only 1 hour 59 minutes. How on earth is this enough time to wait for my luggage from first leg of flight and re check in?

Furtheremore British Airways have said something different (since you can book American Airlines through them too) - they say I will have to get my luggage again to recheck in.

Secondly what kind of ESTA do I need? I have an approved ESTA but in the question : 'are you landing in USA for transit' I have put 'yes' - but if I have to claim my luggage and go through customs doesn't this mean I leave the airport?? Therefore making my ESTA redunant.

If anyone from UK has taken this journey any insight into the above would be appreciated.

edited tags, edited title and body for clarity
Source Link
DavidRecallsMonica
  • 25.6k
  • 3
  • 54
  • 101

Travel from LHR to Mexico cityCity with stop in DALLAS texas questionDallas, Texas

I plan to travel to Mexico city on 31st August. Looking at flights American airlines seems to be cheapest option. However iI am very confused at the stopover in Texas Dallas forth worth/ Fort Worth.

I rang American airlines to ask the question will my luggage be checked all the way through from LHR  (London Heathrow) to MEXICO CITYMexico City without me having to go through customs, but the response iI have received is confusing. American airlines say no, i just need to go through to different terminal. However dallasDallas airport say iI need to claim my luggage and go through customs again to RECHECKrecheck in my bag?? theThe stop over time in dallasDallas is ONLYonly 1 hour 59 minutes. How on earth is this enough time to wait for my luggage from first leg of flight and re check in?

Furtheremore British airwaysAirways have said something different (since you can book american airliensAmerican Airlines through them too) - they say iI will have to get my luggage again to recheck in.

Secondly what kind of ESTA do iI need? I have an approved ESTA but in the question : 'aRE YOU LANDING'are you landing in usaUSA for transit' iI have put 'yes' - but if iI have to claim my luggage and go through customs doesn't this mean i LEAVEI leave the airport?? Therefore making my ESTA redunant.

If anyone from UK has taken this journey any insight into the above would be appreciated.

Travel from LHR to Mexico city with stop in DALLAS texas question

I plan to travel to Mexico city on 31st August. Looking at flights American airlines seems to be cheapest option. However i am very confused at the stopover in Texas Dallas forth worth.

I rang American airlines to ask the question will my luggage be checked all the way through from LHR(London Heathrow) to MEXICO CITY without me having to go through customs, but the response i have received is confusing. American airlines say no, i just need to go through to different terminal. However dallas airport say i need to claim my luggage and go through customs again to RECHECK in my bag?? the stop over time in dallas is ONLY 1 hour 59 minutes. How on earth is this enough time to wait for my luggage from first leg of flight and re check in?

Furtheremore British airways have said something different (since you can book american airliens through them too) - they say i will have to get my luggage again to recheck in.

Secondly what kind of ESTA do i need? I have an approved ESTA but in the question : 'aRE YOU LANDING in usa for transit' i have put 'yes' - but if i have to claim my luggage and go through customs doesn't this mean i LEAVE the airport?? Therefore making my ESTA redunant.

If anyone from UK has taken this journey any insight into the above would be appreciated.

Travel from LHR to Mexico City with stop in Dallas, Texas

I plan to travel to Mexico city on 31st August. Looking at flights American airlines seems to be cheapest option. However I am very confused at the stopover in Texas Dallas / Fort Worth.

I rang American airlines to ask the question will my luggage be checked all the way through from LHR  (London Heathrow) to Mexico City without me having to go through customs, but the response I have received is confusing. American airlines say no, i just need to go through to different terminal. However Dallas airport say I need to claim my luggage and go through customs again to recheck in my bag?? The stop over time in Dallas is only 1 hour 59 minutes. How on earth is this enough time to wait for my luggage from first leg of flight and re check in?

Furtheremore British Airways have said something different (since you can book American Airlines through them too) - they say I will have to get my luggage again to recheck in.

Secondly what kind of ESTA do I need? I have an approved ESTA but in the question : 'are you landing in USA for transit' I have put 'yes' - but if I have to claim my luggage and go through customs doesn't this mean I leave the airport?? Therefore making my ESTA redunant.

If anyone from UK has taken this journey any insight into the above would be appreciated.

Source Link
Maths12
  • 193
  • 1
  • 4

Travel from LHR to Mexico city with stop in DALLAS texas question

I plan to travel to Mexico city on 31st August. Looking at flights American airlines seems to be cheapest option. However i am very confused at the stopover in Texas Dallas forth worth.

I rang American airlines to ask the question will my luggage be checked all the way through from LHR(London Heathrow) to MEXICO CITY without me having to go through customs, but the response i have received is confusing. American airlines say no, i just need to go through to different terminal. However dallas airport say i need to claim my luggage and go through customs again to RECHECK in my bag?? the stop over time in dallas is ONLY 1 hour 59 minutes. How on earth is this enough time to wait for my luggage from first leg of flight and re check in?

Furtheremore British airways have said something different (since you can book american airliens through them too) - they say i will have to get my luggage again to recheck in.

Secondly what kind of ESTA do i need? I have an approved ESTA but in the question : 'aRE YOU LANDING in usa for transit' i have put 'yes' - but if i have to claim my luggage and go through customs doesn't this mean i LEAVE the airport?? Therefore making my ESTA redunant.

If anyone from UK has taken this journey any insight into the above would be appreciated.