Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Ok, I've just re-read @Relaxed's answer again but this time, I've noticed different things: "as the spouse of an EU citizen travelling with her" and "the OP is not allowed to use this lane when travelling alone (unless they are “joining” their spouse)". But I can't find any reference to travelling alone or joining one's spouse in Directive 2004/38/EC Me confused.
    – jaimet
    Commented Apr 9, 2022 at 13:38
  • I provided more details but I am not sure I provided an answer. What is it you are doubting? Note that in practice, I wouldn't expect doing it anyway to create major problems, especially if you have a residence card (it could be trickier with a visa).
    – Relaxed
    Commented Apr 10, 2022 at 15:15
  • 1
    I would also point to a comment I made in the discussion following the earlier answer: ”Note that in practice I don't think the distinction between travelling alone/travelling with your spouse is enforced very strictly. If you do have a permanent residence card, you're not a priority for border guards, no matter what the rules say.” I pointed this out to be comprehensive and precise but the area where it really makes a difference are visa applications for people who do not reside in the EU.
    – Relaxed
    Commented Apr 10, 2022 at 16:06
  • 2
    Are you asking about cases in which a family member of an EU citizen is traveling without the EU family member, is not traveling to join the EU family member, and has no EU nor Schengen residence permit of any sort (for example because they reside outside the EU and outside the Schengen area)?
    – phoog
    Commented Apr 10, 2022 at 20:13