Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackTravel/status/1453104168042967041
edited tags
Link
Martin Epsz
  • 407
  • 3
  • 10
Source Link
Martin Epsz
  • 407
  • 3
  • 10

Cancelling only one passenger in a booking

I have bought a ticket for me and someone else, from Madrid to Buenos Aires, via eDreams. I purchased cancellation insurance along with my ticket.

My partner can no longer travel on the given date, and the reasons for this fall under what the insurance should cover. I, however, can still travel, and intend to fly on the planned date.

I thought I would be able to cancel only half of the booking, somehow modify the reservation to only cover myself, or something along those lines, and then submit a claim to the insurance company to be refunded for half of the price (minus fees or whatever).

However, I can't find any option to do this on eDreams website. I'm starting to suspect what I have to do is cancel the whole ticket and book a new one. But I'm worried that if I do that, the insurance would only pay for half of the booking, since I am still fine with traveling on the scheduled date.

Cancelling the whole ticket, getting refunded for half, and then buying a new ticket would be more expensive than flying solo with my existing booking.

What is the proper way to handle this? I see three options

  1. Cancel whole ticket, get new ticket, work it out with insurance and they should cover the whole cancellation.
  2. Eat the cost, insurance doesn't actually cover this case. Should have bought two tickets separately.
  3. Some way to actually change the booking that I haven't found. I can't find a way to reach eDreams to see if this is something they can do.