Skip to main content
19 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 24, 2020 at 0:14 comment added ian @theotherone I've never seen anything like this on the Tube. Yesterday the same thread had a post about violence perpetrated during the rush hour by a salaryman on one of the gaikokujin commuters. There's one every week. People frequently push or bump their way past me rudely on trains and buses, not a 済みません to be heard. I suppose we all have our anecdotes, and to say "rush hour anywhere tends to bring out the worst in people" is, in my opinion, no excuse.
Jan 23, 2020 at 12:04 comment added the other one @iain I make no comment for the reasons behind this being considerate. It really doesn't matter whether its self preservation or genuine empathy behind it, the result is the same as far as this question is concerned. Japanese people are definitely more polite than in many other countries : rush hour anywhere tends to bring out the worst in people and I found Tokyo rush hour far better than Londons.
Jan 23, 2020 at 6:03 comment added ian “Japanese people broadly tend to be a lot more considerate of others” Hmm, I'd say it's more like “Japanese are under a lot more social pressure not to annoy others and others will likely attempt to enforce deviations from these rules”. It's like saying they're more polite (anyone who's travelled Tokyo's morning rush hour knows this isn't true) it's that they're more formal generally. To mix up the two is to give credit where it isn't due.
Jan 22, 2020 at 17:23 comment added xuq01 @Dan It depends on the city, I think. In Nagoya and Osaka, which are famous for being more slack about etiquette, there are lots of people drinking soft drinks on trains and no one raises an eyebrow. I've certainly seen (Japanese) people drinking on the Tokyo Metro, and I don't think most people bother to care (they might raise an eyebrow but that's about it).
Jan 22, 2020 at 16:25 comment added Dan @xuq01 I should clarify also: I meant that foreigners drinking (non-alcoholic cold drinks) on city trains didn't seem to bother locals. I never saw even foreigners eating there.
Jan 22, 2020 at 16:04 comment added xuq01 @Dan There's a bit of geographical variance here. JR Central, for example, has less stringent rules, more people eating on trains, etc. But eating on the subway/intra-city trains would be weird in any case. Perhaps because these are usually pretty crowded. It's common for people around the world to avoid and/or frown upon eating in subways, AFAIU.
Jan 22, 2020 at 15:25 comment added Gnudiff @TRiG this is especially noticeable in swimming pools, if the swimmer before me hasn't showered properly. However, for commuting in my experience fragrance free deos are the best.
Jan 22, 2020 at 15:23 comment added Gnudiff @knowah well, there have now been for a time fragrance free roll-on deos which are used extensively and provide the best of the both worlds in my opinion.
Jan 22, 2020 at 14:57 comment added TRiG @Gnudiff. Sweat is a lot better than deodorant. Sweat might be slightly unpleasant to smell; deodorant makes my eyes water and gives my tongue an unpleasant sticky feeling. It's horrible horrible stuff, and I don't want it anywhere near me.
Jan 22, 2020 at 14:30 comment added knowah As someone who sweats profusely in any climate, I really doubt the anti-fragrance crowd here would prefer someone like me to not wear deodorant. I agree with @camden_kid; I've never heard of anyone having caring about or being allergic to fragrances before. Just because evidence exists doesn't mean that everyone has been made aware of it. Personally, I don't like prefume/cologne and never use any. But I don't think that my preference should prevent others who do use it from using the tube/metro.
Jan 21, 2020 at 13:13 comment added Dan I saw quite a few Japanese people eating on mid-distance trains that ran through the countryside. I never saw anyone doing so on the metro, etc. I don't even recall seeing locals drinking cold drinks on a hot day on those services. Foreigners who did so didn't seem to bother anyone, at least in Tokyo.
Jan 21, 2020 at 10:33 comment added Gnudiff @camden_kid Obiviously, deodorant is usually better than sweat, which is why it is used in the first place. However, strong odours coming from people next to you, which, in a crowded commute you can't do nothing about, is almost as unpleasant as having smoke blown into your face. Nothing much beats a regular crowded summer commute for a bad trip, than having to stand next to somebody who is grabbing a top handrail, his uber-deodored armpit wafting inches from your face.
Jan 21, 2020 at 10:01 comment added camden_kid -1 I don't consider it rude that people wear perfume or aftershave on public transport and I've never heard anyone else say that it is rude. I've commuted in London for over thirty years.
Jan 21, 2020 at 5:02 comment added jwenting @JeffreysupportsMonica probably because people traveling those tend to be commuters on the way to and from work for quite a while, and eat on the train in lue of having time to do it elsewhere.
Jan 21, 2020 at 4:55 comment added lambshaanxy @JeffreysupportsMonica Eating on long-distance/intercity trains is OK, and often these will even have cart services selling you food. Eating on short-distance/commuter services is not OK.
Jan 21, 2020 at 2:28 comment added Jeffrey In some trains, Japanese people do eat. Smelly stuff. But only some trains. I couldn't figure the rule. Seen it on the bullet train between Tokyo and Kyoto. Not in the city trains though
Jan 21, 2020 at 2:09 comment added muru Then again, one doesn't eat in trains anyway (I'm not sure if it's prohibited, but I've only ever seen foreigners do so).
Jan 21, 2020 at 1:09 vote accept Display Name
Jan 20, 2020 at 14:42 history answered the other one CC BY-SA 4.0