Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • 37
    Other people's possible fragrance sensitivity is a good reason to avoid perfume on trains, and in other enclosed public spaces where it is not possible to avoid you, anywhere in the world. See WebMD. Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 14:25
  • 31
    Why just Japan? I've rarely encountered anyone wearing strong perfume or fragrances anywhere.
    – user105640
    Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 14:52
  • 55
    I thinks it's rude, regardless of country. But I suffer it quite frequently on commuter trains into London. Excessive aftershave; person opposite painting nails with no ventilation; you name it. But if I am un-British enough to call a person out for it, no matter how polite or how gentle, oh boy! Be ready for bad attitude.
    – Stewart
    Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 23:07
  • 12
    @Arthur'sPass That varies a lot by culture. Personally, as an American (and especially as one who is allergic to most perfumes,) I find it rude anywhere, but it seems to be much more accepted or even expected in some other cultures. For example, it seems to be common in certain parts of the Middle East in my experience.
    – reirab
    Commented Jan 21, 2020 at 1:32
  • 6
    I'm allergic to strong perfume (causes sneezing) and although I live in Japan, I'm allergic to it in any country.
    – DXV
    Commented Jan 21, 2020 at 1:58