Skip to main content
Mod Moved Comments To Chat
added 119 characters in body
Source Link
gerrit
  • 57.6k
  • 20
  • 172
  • 340

I would do this only for subsequent stays and with a written contract.

I've done this. I was renting a furnished apartment for about 5 weeks over Airbnb¹. After about 3 weeks, the host asked if I wanted to renew, and if so, with or without Airbnb. He wrote a contract which we both signed, only then I paid, and less than through Airbnb.

I don't care whether or not this is against the T&C of Airbnb or not, for Airbnb as a business certainly doesn't care much about their societal impact. If Airbnb wants to enforce that if I ever rented from someone through Airbnb I may never again rent from them through any other means, good luck to them (imagine if a dating site would try to prohibit couples who met on their platform from communicating outside of it ;-). The only practical problem for me was that Airbnb wanted me to write a review when I was actually still staying there, which limited how honest I felt I could be about the property, and in fact the host was unhappy that I also mentioned negative points.


¹Normally, I avoid Airbnb like the plague, for I strongly detest their city killing and lawlessness akin to Uber or Deliveroo, and indeed I have never used them and will never use them where alternatives exist. In the four cases I've used it, it was very much an action of last resort as nothing else meeting our requirements was available.

I would do this only for subsequent stays and with a written contract.

I've done this. I was renting a furnished apartment for about 5 weeks over Airbnb¹. After about 3 weeks, the host asked if I wanted to renew, and if so, with or without Airbnb. He wrote a contract which we both signed, only then I paid, and less than through Airbnb.

I don't care whether or not this is against the T&C of Airbnb or not, for Airbnb as a business certainly doesn't care much about their societal impact. If Airbnb wants to enforce that if I ever rented from someone through Airbnb I may never again rent from them through any other means, good luck to them. The only practical problem for me was that Airbnb wanted me to write a review when I was actually still staying there, which limited how honest I felt I could be about the property, and in fact the host was unhappy that I also mentioned negative points.


¹Normally, I avoid Airbnb like the plague, for I strongly detest their city killing and lawlessness akin to Uber or Deliveroo, and indeed I have never used them and will never use them where alternatives exist. In the four cases I've used it, it was very much an action of last resort as nothing else meeting our requirements was available.

I would do this only for subsequent stays and with a written contract.

I've done this. I was renting a furnished apartment for about 5 weeks over Airbnb¹. After about 3 weeks, the host asked if I wanted to renew, and if so, with or without Airbnb. He wrote a contract which we both signed, only then I paid, and less than through Airbnb.

I don't care whether or not this is against the T&C of Airbnb or not, for Airbnb as a business certainly doesn't care much about their societal impact. If Airbnb wants to enforce that if I ever rented from someone through Airbnb I may never again rent from them through any other means, good luck to them (imagine if a dating site would try to prohibit couples who met on their platform from communicating outside of it ;-). The only practical problem for me was that Airbnb wanted me to write a review when I was actually still staying there, which limited how honest I felt I could be about the property, and in fact the host was unhappy that I also mentioned negative points.


¹Normally, I avoid Airbnb like the plague, for I strongly detest their city killing and lawlessness akin to Uber or Deliveroo, and indeed I have never used them and will never use them where alternatives exist. In the four cases I've used it, it was very much an action of last resort as nothing else meeting our requirements was available.

corrected "the pest" to "the plague" - it's a false friend I've seen before when translating from Spanish "peste"
Source Link

I would do this only for subsequent stays and with a written contract.

I've done this. I was renting a furnished apartment for about 5 weeks over Airbnb¹. After about 3 weeks, the host asked if I wanted to renew, and if so, with or without Airbnb. He wrote a contract which we both signed, only then I paid, and less than through Airbnb.

I don't care whether or not this is against the T&C of Airbnb or not, for Airbnb as a business certainly doesn't care much about their societal impact. If Airbnb wants to enforce that if I ever rented from someone through Airbnb I may never again rent from them through any other means, good luck to them. The only practical problem for me was that Airbnb wanted me to write a review when I was actually still staying there, which limited how honest I felt I could be about the property, and in fact the host was unhappy that I also mentioned negative points.


¹Normally, I avoid Airbnb like the pestplague, for I strongly detest their city killing and lawlessness akin to Uber or Deliveroo, and indeed I have never used them and will never use them where alternatives exist. In the four cases I've used it, it was very much an action of last resort as nothing else meeting our requirements was available.

I would do this only for subsequent stays and with a written contract.

I've done this. I was renting a furnished apartment for about 5 weeks over Airbnb¹. After about 3 weeks, the host asked if I wanted to renew, and if so, with or without Airbnb. He wrote a contract which we both signed, only then I paid, and less than through Airbnb.

I don't care whether or not this is against the T&C of Airbnb or not, for Airbnb as a business certainly doesn't care much about their societal impact. If Airbnb wants to enforce that if I ever rented from someone through Airbnb I may never again rent from them through any other means, good luck to them. The only practical problem for me was that Airbnb wanted me to write a review when I was actually still staying there, which limited how honest I felt I could be about the property, and in fact the host was unhappy that I also mentioned negative points.


¹Normally, I avoid Airbnb like the pest, for I strongly detest their city killing and lawlessness akin to Uber or Deliveroo, and indeed I have never used them and will never use them where alternatives exist. In the four cases I've used it, it was very much an action of last resort as nothing else meeting our requirements was available.

I would do this only for subsequent stays and with a written contract.

I've done this. I was renting a furnished apartment for about 5 weeks over Airbnb¹. After about 3 weeks, the host asked if I wanted to renew, and if so, with or without Airbnb. He wrote a contract which we both signed, only then I paid, and less than through Airbnb.

I don't care whether or not this is against the T&C of Airbnb or not, for Airbnb as a business certainly doesn't care much about their societal impact. If Airbnb wants to enforce that if I ever rented from someone through Airbnb I may never again rent from them through any other means, good luck to them. The only practical problem for me was that Airbnb wanted me to write a review when I was actually still staying there, which limited how honest I felt I could be about the property, and in fact the host was unhappy that I also mentioned negative points.


¹Normally, I avoid Airbnb like the plague, for I strongly detest their city killing and lawlessness akin to Uber or Deliveroo, and indeed I have never used them and will never use them where alternatives exist. In the four cases I've used it, it was very much an action of last resort as nothing else meeting our requirements was available.

added 9 characters in body
Source Link
gerrit
  • 57.6k
  • 20
  • 172
  • 340

I would do this only for subsequent stays and with a written contract.

I've done this. I was renting a furnished apartment for about 5 weeks over Airbnb¹. After about 3 weeks, the host asked if I wanted to renew, and if so, with or without Airbnb. He wrote a contract which we both signed, only then I paid, and less than through Airbnb.

I don't care whether or not this is against the T&C of Airbnb or not, for Airbnb as a business certainly doesn't care much about their societal impact. If Airbnb wants to enforce that if I ever rented from someone through Airbnb I may never again rent from them through any other means, good luck to them. The only practical problem for me was that Airbnb wanted me to write a review when I was actually still staying there, which limited how honest I felt I could be about the property, and in fact the host was unhappy that I also mentioned negative points.


¹Normally, I avoid Airbnb like the pest, for I strongly detest their city killing and lawlessness akin to Uber or Deliveroo, and indeed I have never used them and will never use them where alternatives exist. In the four cases I've used it, it was very much an action of last resort as nothing else meeting our requirements was available.

I would do this only for subsequent stays and with a written contract.

I've done this. I was renting a furnished apartment for about 5 weeks over Airbnb¹. After about 3 weeks, the host asked if I wanted to renew, and if so, with or without Airbnb. He wrote a contract which we both signed, only then I paid, and less than through Airbnb.

I don't care whether or not this is against the T&C of Airbnb or not, for Airbnb as a business certainly doesn't care much about their impact. If Airbnb wants to enforce that if I ever rented from someone through Airbnb I may never again rent from them through any other means, good luck to them. The only practical problem for me was that Airbnb wanted me to write a review when I was actually still staying there, which limited how honest I felt I could be about the property, and in fact the host was unhappy that I also mentioned negative points.


¹Normally, I avoid Airbnb like the pest, for I strongly detest their city killing and lawlessness akin to Uber or Deliveroo, and indeed I have never used them and will never use them where alternatives exist. In the four cases I've used it, it was very much an action of last resort as nothing else meeting our requirements was available.

I would do this only for subsequent stays and with a written contract.

I've done this. I was renting a furnished apartment for about 5 weeks over Airbnb¹. After about 3 weeks, the host asked if I wanted to renew, and if so, with or without Airbnb. He wrote a contract which we both signed, only then I paid, and less than through Airbnb.

I don't care whether or not this is against the T&C of Airbnb or not, for Airbnb as a business certainly doesn't care much about their societal impact. If Airbnb wants to enforce that if I ever rented from someone through Airbnb I may never again rent from them through any other means, good luck to them. The only practical problem for me was that Airbnb wanted me to write a review when I was actually still staying there, which limited how honest I felt I could be about the property, and in fact the host was unhappy that I also mentioned negative points.


¹Normally, I avoid Airbnb like the pest, for I strongly detest their city killing and lawlessness akin to Uber or Deliveroo, and indeed I have never used them and will never use them where alternatives exist. In the four cases I've used it, it was very much an action of last resort as nothing else meeting our requirements was available.

added 4 characters in body
Source Link
gerrit
  • 57.6k
  • 20
  • 172
  • 340
Loading
deleted 22 characters in body
Source Link
gerrit
  • 57.6k
  • 20
  • 172
  • 340
Loading
Source Link
gerrit
  • 57.6k
  • 20
  • 172
  • 340
Loading