Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 7, 2020 at 6:17 history bounty ended gparyani
Sep 24, 2019 at 20:58 comment added AussieJoe I always bring sweatpants (or basketball shorts) and a tank top in my carry on luggage, and I change in the bathroom when I am ready to sleep. Works like a breeze and is way more comfortable. Just change back into your normal clothes before landing. I always bring a toothbrush too and all my toiletries needed to make the flight as comfortable as possible. You get used to this when the majority of your flights and connections are 24+ hours.
Sep 2, 2019 at 18:15 comment added Willeke I have taken out all comments to do with fire, as that is not within scope of the question.
Aug 30, 2019 at 15:12 comment added Tetsujin Virgin Atlantic upper class used to give out free sweatsuits, pants & top [sleepsuits so a little thinner than street wear] to wear on the flight, so obviously they didn't find them a 'low class' solution. I used to wear mine from seatbelt light to seatbelt light, the entire flight… then keep it. I had quite a few at one point [they didn't want them back, btw, I didn't steal them.]
Aug 30, 2019 at 10:23 comment added simbabque In Germany it's not common to wear them unless you are on the way to or from doing sports, but it's not super odd. In the UK sweatpants are a normal item of clothing. There are people in the IT company's office I am in right now wearing them to work (not customer-facing). I see all kinds of people wear them on the tube and in restaurants all the time. And also on flights. Make sure your behind is not hanging out don't worry about it.
Aug 30, 2019 at 8:00 comment added mouviciel @Ian - It happens that Lagerfeld himself designed some sort of sweatpants: karl.com/fr/pantalon_cod53000509kw.html. Maybe for upper class rebels...
Aug 29, 2019 at 7:53 comment added Ian @ChinguunErdenebadrakh Late German fashion designer Karl Lagerfeld used to say "Somobody who wears sweatpants has lost control over his life". While not everybody thinks this way, wearing sweatpants is often associated with "lower class" (however you want to define that).
Aug 29, 2019 at 7:39 comment added Michael @ChinguunErdenebadrakh: A lot of men older than ~35 years wear trousers or slacks all-year round, even on the hottest summer days (and then complain about the weather). Seems to be tradition.
Aug 29, 2019 at 7:21 comment added Chinguun Erdenebadrakh Yeah, I would think so too; but my parents seem to really dislike sweatpants. I went to Uni here in East Asia with sweatpants and my mother was about to lose her mind. They studied in Germany from 1989 to 2002, maybe the fashion of that time was different?
Aug 29, 2019 at 7:18 vote accept Chinguun Erdenebadrakh
Aug 28, 2019 at 11:59 history answered Chris H CC BY-SA 4.0