Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • Could you please clarify the context of "Does this count as a refusal to entry"? Who is asking this information? Refusal to entry to what? etc. If Ireland is asking, then they probably do not care about refusal to entry in UK.
    – user803422
    Commented May 2, 2019 at 19:11
  • @user803422 If the form only asks about being refused entry to Ireland, there'd be no reason to ask if this incident counts as being refused entry to the UK. Commented May 2, 2019 at 23:47
  • @user803422 The exact question in my Long Stay visa application was: "Have you ever been refused entry to, deported from, or otherwise required to leave another country?". As of now, I proceeded to answer No to the above question after the answers here and also confirmed from the HR of my prospective employer. The rationale behind this, what I understood was that I was in transit and not entering the country. So technically I was not denied entry.
    – Yash Deep
    Commented May 3, 2019 at 16:40
  • @YashDeep the actual reason is that you weren't even in transit because you weren't allowed onto the plane, so you never got to the UK border, so you weren't refused. Transit or visit doesn't matter: if you'd got to the UK, said "I want to transit, please" and been told by an immigration official "You can't: you don't have the right visa", that would have been a refusal, even though it was just transit. Commented May 3, 2019 at 17:10
  • @DavidRicherby I accept I wasn't actually "in Transit". What I meant to say was that I was supposed to " only transit through" and "not enter" the UK , and I was not allowed to board in Istanbul itself, so I changed my route and went directly to Dublin instead and that is why the refusal does not count, I suppose. What you are saying is also very correct that if I had landed in the UK and then the immigration officials refused to let me in, it would have been a refusal. I hope I am getting that right!
    – Yash Deep
    Commented May 3, 2019 at 18:28