Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 8, 2019 at 4:59 comment added jwenting @cpast I've worked in government buildings with multiple level security. Key card access to enter the building, then again to enter the elevator to specific floors, and again to enter a specific block of offices on each floor. And on top of that a front desk with guards. It tends to be the same key card, but coded different depending on your access levels. Cards are also fitted with photographs and cameras are everywhere.
Feb 2, 2019 at 17:02 comment added cpast @jwenting It’s possible that security might be after the elevator on other floors. Certainly for any area where classified information is being handled, they wouldn’t just rely on an elevator keycard system.
S Feb 1, 2019 at 7:56 history suggested V2Blast CC BY-SA 4.0
added link to Doc's answer
Feb 1, 2019 at 4:24 review Suggested edits
S Feb 1, 2019 at 7:56
Jan 31, 2019 at 17:13 comment added terdon Are you sure about this? I went to the US embassy in London a few months ago and while I did have an appointment, I don't think anyone asked about it at the door. First I was allowed in by showing my passport, without giving any reason for my visit, and then I was asked when I went up to the consular area. But entering the embassy itself did not require a reason.
Jan 31, 2019 at 13:37 comment added Aleks G @Fattie You're probably right. I haven't tried going to a different floor from the one I should have. All I was saying is that once I was in the lift, I was there on my own and there were buttons for other floors as well.
Jan 31, 2019 at 13:32 comment added Fattie Nah, you'd never get past security. You might get literally "in the front glass door" to the 18 inch space before the security team, depending on the layout. The US embassy in London has staggeringly high security, its' a prime target for the US' various enemies.
Jan 31, 2019 at 5:40 comment added jwenting Aleks, are you sure you could go to other floors? Quite likely either the floors themselves or the elevator lobbies on them would be locked with keycard access. Not been in embassies, but that's common practice in government office buildings I have been to, as well as of course corporate offices where sensitive data is handled.
Jan 31, 2019 at 5:39 comment added jwenting @DavidRicherby I doubt London would classify as a dangerous country for Americans :) Otherwise, of course.
Jan 30, 2019 at 15:08 comment added Aleks G @DavidRicherby That's my guess, too.
Jan 30, 2019 at 15:02 comment added David Richerby Presumably, when a US citizen shows up unannounced at their embassy in a dangerous country, they're given the benefit of the doubt that it might be an emergency at least long enough to get them inside the building.
Jan 30, 2019 at 11:19 history answered Aleks G CC BY-SA 4.0