Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • 1
    Many thanks for this. I am actually worried about the deception point. I quickly filed my replacement visa application on the day after I was turned away at Gare du Nord, and did not realise at the time that this was a refusal of entry (hence I'm seeking clarification now). I did not tick the 'refused entry' box. I'm now really worried this will be seen as deception. When deciding if non-declaration was deception or not, do they check on the condition of refusal and look into it or is it automatic? I did mention the Gare du Nord encounter in my cover letter.
    – Ellyria
    Commented Jan 14, 2019 at 15:58
  • I'm obviously going to declare it from now on, but I was in such a shock after being turned away and in such a hurry to file a replacement application I did not think this through. I have more than ten years of entry history/visa history in the UK with no problems whatsoever. I'm really worried this one mistake will jeopardise everything. Will I be able to appeal/explain if they do find this deceptive? Note that I am not seeking a new visa but rather it's a replacement visa (no need for a new sponsorship number, for example).
    – Ellyria
    Commented Jan 14, 2019 at 16:03
  • 1
    @Ellyria if they try to get you on deception then you ought to be able to explain that you misunderstood the meaning of your experience at the border. How long did they say you would have to wait for the replacement visa? When you applied, did you include in your application any information about what happened at the border?
    – phoog
    Commented Jan 14, 2019 at 16:13
  • 14
    @Ellyria I believe that your mentioning the incident will in fact serve as proof that it is not deception. Your describing what happened clearly shows that you weren't trying to deceive anyone, so it supports your assertion that you misunderstood whether the incident constitutes a refusal of entry for the purpose of that question. I wouldn't worry too much about it.
    – phoog
    Commented Jan 14, 2019 at 16:30
  • 4
    Someone I know was refused a visa because their "application did not meet the requirements". They applied for a visa countless time after that, each time answering "were you ever refused a visa" positively, and it has never been a problem. Commented Jan 14, 2019 at 21:50