Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 17, 2019 at 21:38 history edited Andrew Lazarus CC BY-SA 4.0
destination isn't the right word here
Jan 4, 2019 at 14:40 comment added xuq01 @Calchas Well, but if your ticket are on separate bookings, I'm pretty sure they have no way to see it. e.g. if I book a flight from Hong Kong to Narita with Cathay Pacific, and then book separately a flight from Narita to JFK with ANA, I'm pretty sure that CBP can't see I'm coming from Japan (of course, I can't use TWOV at Narita either).
Jan 4, 2019 at 14:03 comment added Calchas @xuq01 As far as I understand, they see the whole booking, and it looked like I was coming from Egypt that day. Which I was, but I had a several month stopover in my home city first.
Jan 2, 2019 at 1:00 comment added xuq01 @Calchas Well I guess they might just think, probably a connection on two separate bookings, etc. Unless you're coming from a suspicious country (like Egypt) of course.
Jan 1, 2019 at 21:24 comment added Calchas CBP have access to the full PNR for the inbound journey, but they don't seem to know how long each transit point is. If you took advantage of those excellently priced full flex Cairo-originating fares following the float of the Egyptian pound in 2016, you'll know what I mean. Lots of questions like "why did you come from Cairo today?" "Cairo? I haven't been there for three months." "Looks like you started your trip there" In the end, once you say "I'm an airmiles junkie" their concern about you being terrorist turns into pity at your poor choice of hobby.
Dec 29, 2018 at 18:10 comment added Lightness Races in Orbit Indeed, exactly.
Dec 29, 2018 at 5:32 comment added xuq01 @LightnessRacesinOrbit Rather, I should say that US immigration officers care about your past history outside of the country only if it has something to do with your stay in the US (e.g. do you have means to support yourself, are you likely to commit a crime, etc.) However, flying from a different country is certainly not one of those. Flying from Schiphol does not make me more likely to commit a crime than someone flying from Frankfurt, for example.
Dec 28, 2018 at 14:02 comment added Lightness Races in Orbit Although you're broadly right, I think you're perhaps forgetting that what someone did before going to the US is almost all the information that a border agent has to go on when trying to guess what the visitor is going to do in the US, since they cannot tell the future. What is their history? Have they a suspicious history? This is all pertinent information. In this case though it's not a suspicious history so everything's fine.
Dec 28, 2018 at 10:08 history answered xuq01 CC BY-SA 4.0