Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 23, 2018 at 2:29 comment added Harper - Reinstate Monica @phoog google says because of the Boundary Waters Treaty. Article 1, right up top. ijc.org/en_/BWT CBP can't stop em at the Straits of Mackinac, they have full navigational rights to Lake Michigan.
Aug 23, 2018 at 0:26 comment added phoog Oh I see, I didn't notice the edit. My point is that the regulatory definition of "external boundary" mentions only land borders and territorial waters, and lake shores are neither of those, whether the lake extends past the border or not. The ACLU claims that the zone extends from the shore of Lake Michigan, but I have not seen any evidence that the federal government also takes that position. The border patrol checkpoints in question are not border checkpoints, though; the border patrol does not operate phone-in checkpoints.
Aug 23, 2018 at 0:18 comment added Harper - Reinstate Monica @phoog yes, I was wrong about that, hence the edit. The US has no practical ability to prevent a Canadian sailor from entering Lake Michigan. Also important, there are CBP entry checkpoints at the Chicago marinas and all along Lake Michigan! If they were going to bastion Lake Michigan, then the only checkpoint(s) would be in the Mackinac Island vicinity and they'd be huge. In fact there is one there, but it is a minor oft-unmanned station that uses video chat. Clearly CBP intends Canadian visitors to transit the straits and Lake Michigan and land at a port of entry along the lake.
Aug 22, 2018 at 23:54 comment added phoog @Harper I understand the logic, but I don't see any actual assertion from the federal government that they apply that logic and make that claim. I also don't understand why the same claim isn't made of the shores of Lake Champlain, which is partly in Canada. As to the 100 mile distance, it's clear in the regulation I linked to; I've never heard anyone speak of 200 miles before today.
Aug 22, 2018 at 23:37 history edited Harper - Reinstate Monica CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 70 characters in body
Aug 22, 2018 at 19:35 comment added Harper - Reinstate Monica Because the shores of Lake Michigan are directly accessible from Ontario. Mackinac is wide open water with no locks. On the 200/100mi thing I am not in a position to research right now but my source was not the aclu.
Aug 22, 2018 at 19:22 comment added phoog It's 100 miles, not 200 (8 CFR 287.1(a)(2)). But do you have any information other than the ACLU map that the shores of Lake Michigan count as an external border? Someone asked me about this here, and I could not find any regulation, policy, or other statement from the US government suggesting that it does. (I also could not find anything suggesting that the zone extends 100 miles from the shores of the other great lakes rather than from the centerline where the border actually is; consider Binghamton, NY.)
Aug 21, 2018 at 3:48 comment added Zach Lipton This is good info, but I'm not sure how this answers the question?
Aug 21, 2018 at 1:18 history answered Harper - Reinstate Monica CC BY-SA 4.0