Skip to main content
added 1 character in body
Source Link
WGroleau
  • 9.6k
  • 2
  • 30
  • 70

SorySorry if I missed it, but I don't think anyone mentioned a common practice at merchants in Europe (and some ATMs): You will be offered the "convenience" of paying in your own country's currency. What won't be obvious (and sometimes not even shown) is that the merchant and/or their bank gets an extra bonus by asking your bank for more dollars than they should. Sometimes, they won't even offer; they just do it and hope you don't make them take it back. One McDonald's manager even told me the lielie that they were required to do it.

Sory if I missed it, but I don't think anyone mentioned a common practice at merchants in Europe (and some ATMs): You will be offered the "convenience" of paying in your own country's currency. What won't be obvious (and sometimes not even shown) is that the merchant and/or their bank gets an extra bonus by asking your bank for more dollars than they should. Sometimes, they won't even offer; they just do it and hope you don't make them take it back. One McDonald's manager even told me the lie that they were required to do it.

Sorry if I missed it, but I don't think anyone mentioned a common practice at merchants in Europe (and some ATMs): You will be offered the "convenience" of paying in your own country's currency. What won't be obvious (and sometimes not even shown) is that the merchant and/or their bank gets an extra bonus by asking your bank for more dollars than they should. Sometimes, they won't even offer; they just do it and hope you don't make them take it back. One McDonald's manager even told me the lie that they were required to do it.

Source Link
WGroleau
  • 9.6k
  • 2
  • 30
  • 70

Sory if I missed it, but I don't think anyone mentioned a common practice at merchants in Europe (and some ATMs): You will be offered the "convenience" of paying in your own country's currency. What won't be obvious (and sometimes not even shown) is that the merchant and/or their bank gets an extra bonus by asking your bank for more dollars than they should. Sometimes, they won't even offer; they just do it and hope you don't make them take it back. One McDonald's manager even told me the lie that they were required to do it.