Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 31, 2020 at 8:31 history edited Bernhard CC BY-SA 4.0
It took me a while to figure out what HNQ meant, so I edited it in (second occurence because the first is in bold)
May 28, 2020 at 19:31 comment added Chris H @TooTea sorry, I guess I wasn’t clear - I agree with you that it’s (at least very plausibly) their aim!
May 28, 2020 at 16:47 comment added TooTea @ChrisH OK, I'm not saying my theory is bulletproof. But if the general odd choice of words is just an innocent result of a poor translation, editing the post should be uncontroversial.
May 28, 2020 at 16:44 comment added Willeke Mod @RoddyoftheFrozenPeas, the problem is that these users are mostly new or relatively new and we are often not sure whether they are a new user or a sock, so we often do not act. I think this is a good reason to flag for a mod and mention that this Q should (might need to) be removed from the HNQ list.
May 28, 2020 at 16:41 comment added TooTea @RoddyoftheFrozenPeas Right, but then hopefully you wouldn't mind too much if someone went and edited "tor" out, would you? I do think that mods can un-HNQ questions (cool them down?), but I'm obviously not a mod.
May 28, 2020 at 14:28 comment added Roddy of the Frozen Peas That being said, don't mods have the ability now to remove questions from the HNQ list? If someone is gaming the system, seems like it would be reasonable to slap 'em down for the low quality questions.
May 28, 2020 at 14:26 comment added Roddy of the Frozen Peas I think that this should be balanced against regional words. For example, 'tors' are very common in Dartmoor. If I took a photo in Dartmoor, and forgot which tor it was, then I think it would be OK to use the word "tor" in the title of the question identifying that.
May 28, 2020 at 12:20 history edited TooTea CC BY-SA 4.0
added 196 characters in body
May 28, 2020 at 12:10 history edited TooTea CC BY-SA 4.0
added 1 character in body
May 28, 2020 at 12:09 comment added Chris H I've certainly seen at least one of those accounts have a question reach HNQ, then post another question a few days or weeks later that's essentially the same as the previous one. Which would be consistent with somebody who wants to hit HNQ/game the reputation system. That said, they do also use extremely strange vocabulary within their questions/comments (announcing that google "unfurled" something, for example. I've also seen them use "peradventure" on more than one occasion, a word I don't believe I've ever encountered in any other context). Could also be for attention, though, I suppose.
May 28, 2020 at 12:07 history edited TooTea CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 11 characters in body
May 28, 2020 at 12:01 history answered TooTea CC BY-SA 4.0