News

The 10 Best Horror Games on Nintendo Switch in 2024 – SwitchArcade Special

Following my feature on the best looking Nintendo Switch games in 2024, I had a few different ideas for my next Switch-focused article. Luigi’s Mansion 2 HD releasing, reminded me how much I liked the game back on 3DS, so I decided to write about my favorite horror games on Switch. Note that this list is in no particular order, and it also features horror-adjacent games. I’ve also only included games I’ve personally tried out on Switch. Hopefully this helps you find your next scare or just gets you a lovely immersive horror experience to play on Nintendo’s hybrid system.

Luigi’s Mansion 2 HD ($59.99)

While Luigi’s Mansion 3 is the more popular entry, having replayed Luigi’s Mansion 2 through the Switch release over the last week just reminded me how much I like it. Think of this entry as cheating because I’m including not only Luigi’s Mansion 2 HD (an excellent release), but also Luigi’s Mansion on 3DS and Luigi’s Mansion 3 on Switch. The trilogy is worth your time as great games and the Switch entries look excellent on the OLED screen. As for Luigi’s Mansion 2 HD, it might not seem worth it if you already played it on 3DS, but it is great for newcomers who got into the series on Switch through Luigi’s Mansion 3. Hopefully Nintendo brings the 3DS version of Luigi’s Mansion (1) to Switch in some form as well so the whole trilogy is playable on one system.

Signalis ($19.99)

signalis switch review

Signalis is one of the best horror games in recent years. I originally thought it would just be a nice throwback to PS1 horror games, but it ended up being so much more. I love the characters, music, aesthetic, and just about everything the developers put into this experience. If you enjoyed the PS1 horror games or just want a fantastic survival horror experience that will stick with you for a long time, Signalis is worth your time.

Spirit Hunter: Death Mark, NG, and Death Mark II ($49.99 each)

Another list entry where I cheat and feature more than one game. Well, just like Luigi’s Mansion, I’m including the complete Spirit Hunter series here because all three games are excellent and worth playing for horror game fans for their art, story, and more. I also enjoyed all three on Switch despite also playing them elsewhere. I adore Experience Inc’s games and these three are absolutely worth your time. I consider this series a hidden gem in the horror space.

Alien: Isolation ($19.99)

SEGA and Creative Assembly’s superb Alien: Isolation saw a Switch and mobile release through Feral Interactive, and the Switch version is actually better than the older PS4 version as far as I’m concerned. It runs and looks great on Nintendo’s hybrid system, and the aesthetic is a perfect fit for the OLED screen in handheld mode. I know most want a sequel (I know I do), but replaying Alien: Isolation on Switch is an experience you need to have as a fan or newcomer to the game. This is a true survival horror masterpiece.

FATAL FRAME: Mask of the Lunar Eclipse ($49.99) and Maiden of Black Water ($39.99)

It has been awesome to see Koei Tecmo bring both Fatal Frame (known as Project Zero outside NA) games to Switch because they are not only amazing horror experiences, but they also deliver things we don’t usually see in horror games these days with their setting and gameplay loop. Both games have some clunky elements despite being remastered or brought to modern platforms, but they deserve a spot in your library of horror games just for how scary they can get. Now I hope we get the rest of the series on Nintendo Switch in the near future. If you had to pick just one, I recommend Maiden of Black Water as it is a cheaper game, but I ended up liking Mask of the Lunar Eclipse more by the end.

World of Horror ($19.99)

World of Horror finally left early access and hit Nintendo Switch in a great conversion. The 1-bit horror roguelite with turn-based combat left a strong impression on me when I played it, and I’ve enjoyed seeing it through multiple times since. It isn’t your usual horror game, but it stands out enough and blew me away when I first played it. The art is stunning and the aesthetic shines on the Switch OLED screen in handheld mode.

Corpse Party ($19.99)

The original Corpse Party is one of my favorite horror games of all time, and I’ve played every single localized version with my favorites being the 3DS and Nintendo Switch versions. The 16-bit horror game has incredible audio and an unforgettable story. It isn’t without frustration, and I still get annoyed by one specific gameplay mechanic in the early hours, but I will never not feature Corpse Party in a horror game list. The low asking price also helps.

Resident Evil and Resident Evil 4 ($19.99 each)

When thinking about the best Resident Evil games on Switch right now, I wasn’t sure if I should feature Resident Evil (remake) or Resident Evil 4 here, so I took the easy way out and included both. With Resident Evil and Resident Evil 4, you get the best of the horror focused and action focused games in the series, and they play well on Nintendo Switch. Both games are legendary for what they did for horror games in general, and you owe it to yourself to play them.

Saturnalia ($19.99)

I didn’t get around to Saturnalia until around the time Mediterranea Inferno came to consoles, but I’m glad I finally played it. Saturnalia is a survival horror adventure with a striking aesthetic that has you playing as a few characters exploring a village haunted by an ancient ritual. Just like the publisher’s other games, I liked it enough to buy it on another platform to support the release. Saturnalia is one of the more interesting horror games in recent years as well.

Yomawari: Lost in the Dark and The Long Night Collection ($39.99)

The Yomawari games weren’t even on my radar until a friend recommended I check out the PS Vita release many years ago. I fell in love with the series for its simple gameplay, but its horrendous and scary designs. Since its debut in the West on PS Vita and PC, the entire series has been ported to Switch across a collection of the original games and a new release. They are all worth playing, but I recommend The Long Night Collection if you’re new to the series. Just be warned about some dated gameplay or lack of quality of life mechanics. If the aesthetic appeals to you, the Yomawari games are absolutely worth your time.

Little Nightmares I+II Bundle ($49.99)

In this case, there’s a dedicated bundle with both games on the eShop so I don’t need to resort to cheating to include multiple games. The Little Nightmares series of horror puzzle platformers have some of the best atmosphere and immersion through their designs and sounds accompanying the puzzles. Both games are worth playing, and I recommend grabbing the discounted bundle rather than just the individual games on Switch where they run quite well.

That’s my list then. If you have a game you think I should’ve included, please let me know in the comments below. I’ve not played every single horror game on Switch, so I couldn’t include a few I’ve played on other platforms like Madison, but the games I’ve included here are all games I’ve played on Switch myself to ensure they are worth experiencing on the hybrid console. As always, thanks for reading!