Listen to this article here
Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

TULSA, Okla. – Tulsa-native singer-songwriter Lexi Onyango released her new single, “Wishing We Were Older,” on all streaming platforms on July 2. This song marks Onyango’s first new release of 2024, following her 2023 EP “Limerence.”  

Logan Bruhn Productions recorded and produced “Wishing We Were Older” in Tulsa, featuring sweeping strings by Matt Magerkurth (cello) and Olivia McGraw (violin). The song marks a stylistic shift for Onyango whose 2023 releases blended the lines between indie pop and dance music.

“I feel like I’m ready to step into a new evolution for myself as an artist,” Onyango said.

“I’ve just been stripping everything back; the songs I have been writing lately are a little bit slower and more nuanced and really emphasize the lyrics and songwriting. I’m expressing new sides of myself, which feels good to me right now,” Onyango adds.

Onyango called ‘Wishing We Were Older’ a reflection on the passage of time and a taste of nostalgia from her past self. 

“I wrote this song a few years ago when I had recently moved out of my parents’ house and felt like I was truly an adult for the first time,” Onyango said.

“All of my friends had so many milestones going on, like getting married, having babies, graduating college, and all of my younger siblings were learning to drive all of a sudden. It’s this surreal moment when you realize you are living an experience that your child-self could only imagine but there’s also a heaviness to it all that you couldn’t predict.”

Onyango will perform live next on July 6 at Oklahoma City’s 51st Street Speakeasy alongside singer-songwriters Micaela Young and Kat Lock. She will also perform in Tulsa on August 23 with Saynt Ego and The Links at Tulsa’s historic Riverside Studio. 

Onyango’s star has been rising in the Oklahoma music scene since she released her debut EP “NOW” in early 2022 and had her song “One Kiss” featured on the Spotify Fresh Find: Indie playlist.

In 2023 she released her EP ‘Limerence’ and was listed by Tulsa World as one of 18 artists to see live, and has been featured in Tulsa People, and Black Wall Street Times. Most recently she performed on the main stage at Tulsa’s Mayfest 2024. 

Nehemiah D. Frank is the founder and editor-in-chief of The Black Wall Street Times and a descendant of two families that survived the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre. Although his publication’s store and newsroom...

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply