Skip to main content
Fixing a site bug of disappearing double backslashes: https://tex.meta.stackexchange.com/questions/7168/double-backslashes-disappear-from-code
Source Link
David Carlisle
  • 771k
  • 70
  • 1.6k
  • 2.5k

I would like to write something like the definition of a gradient operator in cartesian coordinates.

\usepackage{amsmath}
\begin{equation}
    \nabla \Phi =
    \begin{pmatrix}
        \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial x} \    \\
        \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial y} \    \\
        \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial z} \    \\
    \end{pmatrix}
\end{equation}

The fractions are rendered small, as when they are rendered inline, but I don't like it in that particular instance.

I knew this would happen since it is documented there: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/LaTeX/Mathematics#Matrices_and_arrays

Even if I increase the spacing by adding [0.5em] after the double-backslash, it still doesn't look very good. I have a lot of space so I'd like the content of the matrix not to squeeze itself.

How can I make the content of a matrix using its normal size and not its inline size?

I would like to write something like the definition of a gradient operator in cartesian coordinates.

\usepackage{amsmath}
\begin{equation}
    \nabla \Phi =
    \begin{pmatrix}
        \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial x} \            \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial y} \            \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial z} \        \end{pmatrix}
\end{equation}

The fractions are rendered small, as when they are rendered inline, but I don't like it in that particular instance.

I knew this would happen since it is documented there: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/LaTeX/Mathematics#Matrices_and_arrays

Even if I increase the spacing by adding [0.5em] after the double-backslash, it still doesn't look very good. I have a lot of space so I'd like the content of the matrix not to squeeze itself.

How can I make the content of a matrix using its normal size and not its inline size?

I would like to write something like the definition of a gradient operator in cartesian coordinates.

\usepackage{amsmath}
\begin{equation}
    \nabla \Phi =
    \begin{pmatrix}
        \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial x} \\
        \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial y} \\
        \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial z} \\
    \end{pmatrix}
\end{equation}

The fractions are rendered small, as when they are rendered inline, but I don't like it in that particular instance.

I knew this would happen since it is documented there: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/LaTeX/Mathematics#Matrices_and_arrays

Even if I increase the spacing by adding [0.5em] after the double-backslash, it still doesn't look very good. I have a lot of space so I'd like the content of the matrix not to squeeze itself.

How can I make the content of a matrix using its normal size and not its inline size?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackTeX/status/235751148064235520
Source Link
Niriel
  • 942
  • 1
  • 10
  • 18

How do I get normal-sized fractions in my matrices?

I would like to write something like the definition of a gradient operator in cartesian coordinates.

\usepackage{amsmath}
\begin{equation}
    \nabla \Phi =
    \begin{pmatrix}
        \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial x} \            \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial y} \            \frac{\partial \Phi}{\partial z} \        \end{pmatrix}
\end{equation}

The fractions are rendered small, as when they are rendered inline, but I don't like it in that particular instance.

I knew this would happen since it is documented there: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/LaTeX/Mathematics#Matrices_and_arrays

Even if I increase the spacing by adding [0.5em] after the double-backslash, it still doesn't look very good. I have a lot of space so I'd like the content of the matrix not to squeeze itself.

How can I make the content of a matrix using its normal size and not its inline size?