Skip to main content
better question title to focus on the technical problem at hand rather than the interpersonal issue with IT Admin
Source Link
Robotnik
  • 2.4k
  • 3
  • 25
  • 42

Work Network Admin refuses to give me How do I implement a 2ndsecond router within a network so that two computers can share the same (internal) IP address so I have to add extra router?

At work I am given only a single internal IP address (198.168.10.106) to be used on a single computer on the network. ProblemThe problem is that I want to use 2 computers at my office and share the only single given IP address between them. 

On one of my 2 computers I have a web server that I want to be accessed from (198.168.10.106) work network. My work's network Administrator will not give me a second IP address, so I decided to use a TP-Link consumer Router to have the single available IP shared between the 2 computers.

TO SUMMARIZE. I wantwould like both my server PC and the regular windows PC (connected to the router's LAN port) to be seen over my work network as one IP address. The one given by my administrator (198.168.10.106).

Work Network ----->| WAN MY ROUTER ||----> PC 1 |---- PC 2

I connected the cable from my work's wall socket to the WAN port of my Router. And from my router's 2 LAN ports a cable to my 2 personal computers respectively. So I am about to share this single IP address (198.168.10.106) between my PC1 and PC2 which are given IP addresses 198.168.0.1 and 198.168.0.2 respectively.

WHERE IS THE PROBLEM? The problem is that Internet works fine but Windows File Sharing with other computers on work network does not work.

Any ideas?

Work Network Admin refuses to give me a 2nd IP address so I have to add extra router

At work I am given only a single IP address (198.168.10.106) to be used on a single computer on the network. Problem is that I want to use 2 computers at my office and share the only single given IP address between them. On one of my 2 computers I have a web server that I want to be accessed from (198.168.10.106) work network. My work's network Administrator will not give me a second IP address, so I decided to use a TP-Link consumer Router to have the single available IP shared between the 2 computers.

TO SUMMARIZE. I want both my server PC and the regular windows PC (connected to the router's LAN port) to be seen over my work network as one IP address. The one given by my administrator (198.168.10.106).

Work Network ----->| WAN MY ROUTER ||----> PC 1 |---- PC 2

I connected the cable from my work's wall socket to the WAN port of my Router. And from my router's 2 LAN ports a cable to my 2 personal computers respectively. So I am about to share this single IP address (198.168.10.106) between my PC1 and PC2 which are given IP addresses 198.168.0.1 and 198.168.0.2 respectively.

WHERE IS THE PROBLEM? The problem is that Internet works fine but Windows File Sharing with other computers on work network does not work.

Any ideas?

How do I implement a second router within a network so that two computers can share the same (internal) IP address?

At work I am given only a single internal IP address (198.168.10.106) to be used on a single computer on the network. The problem is that I want to use 2 computers at my office and share the only single given IP address between them. 

On one of my 2 computers I have a web server that I want to be accessed from (198.168.10.106) work network. My work's network Administrator will not give me a second IP address, so I decided to use a TP-Link consumer Router to have the single available IP shared between the 2 computers.

TO SUMMARIZE. I would like both my server PC and the regular windows PC (connected to the router's LAN port) to be seen over my work network as one IP address. The one given by my administrator (198.168.10.106).

Work Network ----->| WAN MY ROUTER ||----> PC 1 |---- PC 2

I connected the cable from my work's wall socket to the WAN port of my Router. And from my router's 2 LAN ports a cable to my 2 personal computers respectively. So I am about to share this single IP address (198.168.10.106) between my PC1 and PC2 which are given IP addresses 198.168.0.1 and 198.168.0.2 respectively.

WHERE IS THE PROBLEM? The problem is that Internet works fine but Windows File Sharing with other computers on work network does not work.

Any ideas?

Post Closed as "Opinion-based" by grawity_u1686, DavidPostill, LPChip, HackToHell, Wesley

At work I am given only a single IP address (198.168.10.106) to be used on a single computer on the network. Problem is that I want to use 2 computers at my office and share the only single given IP address between them. On one of my 2 computers I have a web server that I want to be accessed from (198.168.10.106) work network. My work's network Administrator will not give me a second IP address, so I decided to use a TP-Link consumer Router to have the single available IP shared between the 2 computers.

TO SUMMARIZE. I want both my server PC and the regular windows PC (connected to the router's LAN port) to be seen over my work network as one IP address. The one given by my strange, stupid, fat and ugly administrator (198.168.10.106).

Work Network ----->| WAN MY ROUTER ||----> PC 1 |---- PC 2

I connected the cable from my work's wall socket to the WAN port of my Router. And from my router's 2 LAN ports a cable to my 2 personal computers respectively. So I am about to share this single IP address (198.168.10.106) between my PC1 and PC2 which are given IP addresses 198.168.0.1 and 198.168.0.2 respectively.

WHERE IS THE PROBLEM? The problem is that Internet works fine but Windows File Sharing with other computers on work network does not work.

Any ideas?

At work I am given only a single IP address (198.168.10.106) to be used on a single computer on the network. Problem is that I want to use 2 computers at my office and share the only single given IP address between them. On one of my 2 computers I have a web server that I want to be accessed from (198.168.10.106) work network. My work's network Administrator will not give me a second IP address, so I decided to use a TP-Link consumer Router to have the single available IP shared between the 2 computers.

TO SUMMARIZE. I want both my server PC and the regular windows PC (connected to the router's LAN port) to be seen over my work network as one IP address. The one given by my strange, stupid, fat and ugly administrator (198.168.10.106).

Work Network ----->| WAN MY ROUTER ||----> PC 1 |---- PC 2

I connected the cable from my work's wall socket to the WAN port of my Router. And from my router's 2 LAN ports a cable to my 2 personal computers respectively. So I am about to share this single IP address (198.168.10.106) between my PC1 and PC2 which are given IP addresses 198.168.0.1 and 198.168.0.2 respectively.

WHERE IS THE PROBLEM? The problem is that Internet works fine but Windows File Sharing with other computers on work network does not work.

Any ideas?

At work I am given only a single IP address (198.168.10.106) to be used on a single computer on the network. Problem is that I want to use 2 computers at my office and share the only single given IP address between them. On one of my 2 computers I have a web server that I want to be accessed from (198.168.10.106) work network. My work's network Administrator will not give me a second IP address, so I decided to use a TP-Link consumer Router to have the single available IP shared between the 2 computers.

TO SUMMARIZE. I want both my server PC and the regular windows PC (connected to the router's LAN port) to be seen over my work network as one IP address. The one given by my administrator (198.168.10.106).

Work Network ----->| WAN MY ROUTER ||----> PC 1 |---- PC 2

I connected the cable from my work's wall socket to the WAN port of my Router. And from my router's 2 LAN ports a cable to my 2 personal computers respectively. So I am about to share this single IP address (198.168.10.106) between my PC1 and PC2 which are given IP addresses 198.168.0.1 and 198.168.0.2 respectively.

WHERE IS THE PROBLEM? The problem is that Internet works fine but Windows File Sharing with other computers on work network does not work.

Any ideas?

Removed more insults.
Source Link
Journeyman Geek
  • 130.3k
  • 52
  • 272
  • 443

At work I am given only a single IP address (198.168.10.106) to be used on a single computer on the network. Problem is that I want to use 2 computers at my office and share the only single given IP address between them. On one of my 2 computers I have a web server that I want to be accessed from (198.168.10.106) work network. My work's network Administrator wontwill not give me a second IP address, so I decided to use a TP-Link consumer Router to have the single available IP shared between the 2 computers.

TO SUMMARIZE. I want both my server PC and the regular windows PC (connected to the router's LAN port) to be seen over my work network as one IP address. The one given by my strange, stupid, fat and ugly administrator (198.168.10.106).

Work Network ----->| WAN MY ROUTER ||----> PC 1 |---- PC 2

I connected the cable from my work's wall socket to the WAN port of my Router. And from my router's 2 LAN ports a cable to my 2 personal computers respectively. So I am about to share this single IP address (198.168.10.106) between my PC1 and PC2 which are given IP addresses 198.168.0.1 and 198.168.0.2 respectively.

WHERE IS THE PROBLEM? The problem is that Internet works fine but Windows File Sharing with other computers on work network does not work.

Any ideas?

At work I am given only a single IP address (198.168.10.106) to be used on a single computer on the network. Problem is that I want to use 2 computers at my office and share the only single given IP address between them. On one of my 2 computers I have a web server that I want to be accessed from (198.168.10.106) work network. My work's network Administrator wont give me a second IP address, so I decided to use a TP-Link consumer Router to have the single available IP shared between the 2 computers.

TO SUMMARIZE. I want both my server PC and the regular windows PC (connected to the router's LAN port) to be seen over my work network as one IP address. The one given by my strange, stupid, fat and ugly administrator (198.168.10.106).

Work Network ----->| WAN MY ROUTER ||----> PC 1 |---- PC 2

I connected the cable from my work's wall socket to the WAN port of my Router. And from my router's 2 LAN ports a cable to my 2 personal computers respectively. So I am about to share this single IP address (198.168.10.106) between my PC1 and PC2 which are given IP addresses 198.168.0.1 and 198.168.0.2 respectively.

WHERE IS THE PROBLEM? The problem is that Internet works fine but Windows File Sharing with other computers on work network does not work.

Any ideas?

At work I am given only a single IP address (198.168.10.106) to be used on a single computer on the network. Problem is that I want to use 2 computers at my office and share the only single given IP address between them. On one of my 2 computers I have a web server that I want to be accessed from (198.168.10.106) work network. My work's network Administrator will not give me a second IP address, so I decided to use a TP-Link consumer Router to have the single available IP shared between the 2 computers.

TO SUMMARIZE. I want both my server PC and the regular windows PC (connected to the router's LAN port) to be seen over my work network as one IP address. The one given by my strange, stupid, fat and ugly administrator (198.168.10.106).

Work Network ----->| WAN MY ROUTER ||----> PC 1 |---- PC 2

I connected the cable from my work's wall socket to the WAN port of my Router. And from my router's 2 LAN ports a cable to my 2 personal computers respectively. So I am about to share this single IP address (198.168.10.106) between my PC1 and PC2 which are given IP addresses 198.168.0.1 and 198.168.0.2 respectively.

WHERE IS THE PROBLEM? The problem is that Internet works fine but Windows File Sharing with other computers on work network does not work.

Any ideas?

Removed verbal attacks in topic
Source Link
Loading
Removed verbal attacks in topic
Source Link
Journeyman Geek
  • 130.3k
  • 52
  • 272
  • 443
Loading
Source Link
Loading