Skip to main content
edited title
Link
epotter
  • 379
  • 4
  • 7
  • 15

Can Can't boot vhdx in hyper-v after creation with disk2vdh

Source Link
epotter
  • 379
  • 4
  • 7
  • 15

Can boot vhdx in hyper-v after creation with disk2vdh

I am trying to take a machine from a physical machine to a virtual. I created a vhdx of the hard drive with the systinternals disk2vhd tool.

The vhdx is on a usb hard drive. I attached the drive to another machine and created a new virtual machine in Hyper-V that used the vhdx. When I start the new virtual machine, it give an error message indicating that there is a boot failure do to the fact that no bootable media was found.

Is there a way to diagnose this problem? I can verify that the virtual machine is using my vhdx file which was created from a physical hard drive that is certainly bootable.