Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

So recently I deployed winWindows 10 to a few test machines in my office and had the issue of not being able to access the network share ie "\\USA\Shared" or "\\FRANCE\Shared" but "\\ENGLAND\Shared" worked fine as it was my local Share. This was only on my Dell Optiplex 990 which is using the Intel 82579LM Gigabit NIC. The laptops access the network shares fine. I looked at the reg HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet..... fixHKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\ fix and also that the right network services were running. Myself

Myself and my colleague in Shanghai thought it might be DNS issues but NSLookup was resolving perfectly. Then I had an idea. i went to: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/product/47549/Intel-82579-Gigabit-Ethernet-Controller where Intel have released new versions of the Network card within days of each other. There

There was obviously some issues. After an update of the drivers and reboot my non local Sharesshares are working perfectly. I hope this is of some help and will save you some work ;-)

Kind regards, William

So recently I deployed win 10 to a few test machines in my office and had the issue of not being able to access the network share ie "\\USA\Shared" or "\\FRANCE\Shared" but "\\ENGLAND\Shared" worked fine as it was my local Share. This was only on my Dell Optiplex 990 which is using the Intel 82579LM Gigabit NIC. The laptops access the network shares fine. I looked at the reg HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet..... fix and also that the right network services were running. Myself and my colleague in Shanghai thought it might be DNS issues but NSLookup was resolving perfectly. Then I had an idea. i went to: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/product/47549/Intel-82579-Gigabit-Ethernet-Controller where Intel have released new versions of the Network card within days of each other. There was obviously some issues. After an update of the drivers and reboot my non local Shares are working perfectly. I hope this is of some help and will save you some work ;-)

Kind regards, William

So recently I deployed Windows 10 to a few test machines in my office and had the issue of not being able to access the network share ie "\\USA\Shared" or "\\FRANCE\Shared" but "\\ENGLAND\Shared" worked fine as it was my local Share. This was only on my Dell Optiplex 990 which is using the Intel 82579LM Gigabit NIC. The laptops access the network shares fine. I looked at the reg HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\ fix and also that the right network services were running.

Myself and my colleague in Shanghai thought it might be DNS issues but NSLookup was resolving perfectly. I went to: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/product/47549/Intel-82579-Gigabit-Ethernet-Controller where Intel have released new versions of the Network card within days of each other.

There was obviously some issues. After an update of the drivers and reboot my non local shares are working perfectly.

added 6 characters in body
Source Link

So recently I deployed win 10 to a few test machines in my office and had the issue of not being able to access the network share ie "\USA\Shared""\\USA\Shared" or "\FRANCE\Shared""\\FRANCE\Shared" but "\ENGLAND\Shared""\\ENGLAND\Shared" worked fine as it was my local Share. This was only on my Dell Optiplex 990 which is using the Intel 82579LM Gigabit NIC. The laptops access the network shares fine. I looked at the reg HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet..... fix and also that the right network services were running. Myself and my colleague in Shanghai thought it might be DNS issues but NSLookup was resolving perfectly. Then I had an idea. i went to: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/product/47549/Intel-82579-Gigabit-Ethernet-Controller where Intel have released new versions of the Network card within days of each other. There was obviously some issues. After an update of the drivers and reboot my non local Shares are working perfectly. I hope this is of some help and will save you some work ;-)

Kind regards, William

So recently I deployed win 10 to a few test machines in my office and had the issue of not being able to access the network share ie "\USA\Shared" or "\FRANCE\Shared" but "\ENGLAND\Shared" worked fine as it was my local Share. This was only on my Dell Optiplex 990 which is using the Intel 82579LM Gigabit NIC. The laptops access the network shares fine. I looked at the reg HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet..... fix and also that the right network services were running. Myself and my colleague in Shanghai thought it might be DNS issues but NSLookup was resolving perfectly. Then I had an idea. i went to: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/product/47549/Intel-82579-Gigabit-Ethernet-Controller where Intel have released new versions of the Network card within days of each other. There was obviously some issues. After an update of the drivers and reboot my non local Shares are working perfectly. I hope this is of some help and will save you some work ;-)

Kind regards, William

So recently I deployed win 10 to a few test machines in my office and had the issue of not being able to access the network share ie "\\USA\Shared" or "\\FRANCE\Shared" but "\\ENGLAND\Shared" worked fine as it was my local Share. This was only on my Dell Optiplex 990 which is using the Intel 82579LM Gigabit NIC. The laptops access the network shares fine. I looked at the reg HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet..... fix and also that the right network services were running. Myself and my colleague in Shanghai thought it might be DNS issues but NSLookup was resolving perfectly. Then I had an idea. i went to: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/product/47549/Intel-82579-Gigabit-Ethernet-Controller where Intel have released new versions of the Network card within days of each other. There was obviously some issues. After an update of the drivers and reboot my non local Shares are working perfectly. I hope this is of some help and will save you some work ;-)

Kind regards, William

Source Link

So recently I deployed win 10 to a few test machines in my office and had the issue of not being able to access the network share ie "\USA\Shared" or "\FRANCE\Shared" but "\ENGLAND\Shared" worked fine as it was my local Share. This was only on my Dell Optiplex 990 which is using the Intel 82579LM Gigabit NIC. The laptops access the network shares fine. I looked at the reg HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet..... fix and also that the right network services were running. Myself and my colleague in Shanghai thought it might be DNS issues but NSLookup was resolving perfectly. Then I had an idea. i went to: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/product/47549/Intel-82579-Gigabit-Ethernet-Controller where Intel have released new versions of the Network card within days of each other. There was obviously some issues. After an update of the drivers and reboot my non local Shares are working perfectly. I hope this is of some help and will save you some work ;-)

Kind regards, William