Skip to main content
Don't need that any more
Source Link
ArtOfCode
  • 3.4k
  • 5
  • 16
  • 19

Windows 10 has Cortana, which I don't like. I disabled it as soon as I could. However, looking in Task Manager, the process for Cortana is still running, and can't be effectively terminated: ending the task simply results in the process respawning a few seconds later. Using the command

taskkill /IM Cortana.exe /F

has the same result: the process respawns.

Is there any way to disable Cortana so that the process doesn't keep running in the background, and doesn't respawn if terminated?

This is not the same as the suggested duplicate, because that asks about disabling Cortana visibly for other accounts. This question asks about disabling Cortana for my account, and at the process level so it's not even running, instead of appearing disabled.

Windows 10 has Cortana, which I don't like. I disabled it as soon as I could. However, looking in Task Manager, the process for Cortana is still running, and can't be effectively terminated: ending the task simply results in the process respawning a few seconds later. Using the command

taskkill /IM Cortana.exe /F

has the same result: the process respawns.

Is there any way to disable Cortana so that the process doesn't keep running in the background, and doesn't respawn if terminated?

This is not the same as the suggested duplicate, because that asks about disabling Cortana visibly for other accounts. This question asks about disabling Cortana for my account, and at the process level so it's not even running, instead of appearing disabled.

Windows 10 has Cortana, which I don't like. I disabled it as soon as I could. However, looking in Task Manager, the process for Cortana is still running, and can't be effectively terminated: ending the task simply results in the process respawning a few seconds later. Using the command

taskkill /IM Cortana.exe /F

has the same result: the process respawns.

Is there any way to disable Cortana so that the process doesn't keep running in the background, and doesn't respawn if terminated?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/super_user/status/630861921537933312
added 3 characters in body
Source Link
ArtOfCode
  • 3.4k
  • 5
  • 16
  • 19

Windows 10 has Cortana, which I don't like. I disabled it as soon as I could. However, looking in Task Manager, the process for Cortana is still running, and can't be effectively terminated: ending the task simply results in the process respawning a few seconds later. Using the command

taskkill /IM Cortana.exe /F

has the same result: the process respawns.

Is there any way to disable Cortana so that the process doesn't keep running in the background, and doesn't respawn if terminated?

This is not the same as the linkedsuggested duplicate, because that asks about disabling Cortana visibly for other accounts. This question asks about disabling Cortana for my account, and at the process level so it's not even running, instead of appearing disabled.

Windows 10 has Cortana, which I don't like. I disabled it as soon as I could. However, looking in Task Manager, the process for Cortana is still running, and can't be effectively terminated: ending the task simply results in the process respawning a few seconds later. Using the command

taskkill /IM Cortana.exe /F

has the same result: the process respawns.

Is there any way to disable Cortana so that the process doesn't keep running in the background, and doesn't respawn if terminated?

This is not the same as the linked duplicate, because that asks about disabling Cortana visibly for other accounts. This question asks about disabling Cortana for my account, and at the process level so it's not even running, instead of appearing disabled.

Windows 10 has Cortana, which I don't like. I disabled it as soon as I could. However, looking in Task Manager, the process for Cortana is still running, and can't be effectively terminated: ending the task simply results in the process respawning a few seconds later. Using the command

taskkill /IM Cortana.exe /F

has the same result: the process respawns.

Is there any way to disable Cortana so that the process doesn't keep running in the background, and doesn't respawn if terminated?

This is not the same as the suggested duplicate, because that asks about disabling Cortana visibly for other accounts. This question asks about disabling Cortana for my account, and at the process level so it's not even running, instead of appearing disabled.

Question Protected by CommunityBot
added 40 characters in body
Source Link
ArtOfCode
  • 3.4k
  • 5
  • 16
  • 19

Windows 10 has Cortana, which I don't like. I disabled it as soon as I could. However, looking in Task Manager, the process for Cortana is still running, and can't be effectively terminated: ending the task simply results in the process respawning a few seconds later. Using the command

taskkill /IM Cortana.exe /F

has the same result: the process respawns.

Is there any way to disable Cortana so that the process doesn't keep running in the background, and doesn't respawn if terminated?

This is not the same as the linked duplicate, because that asks about disabling Cortana - visibly, and not at the process level -visibly for other accounts. I want to knowThis question asks about disabling it at the process levelCortana for my own accountmy account, and at the process level so it's not even running, instead of appearing disabled.

Windows 10 has Cortana, which I don't like. I disabled it as soon as I could. However, looking in Task Manager, the process for Cortana is still running, and can't be effectively terminated: ending the task simply results in the process respawning a few seconds later. Using the command

taskkill /IM Cortana.exe /F

has the same result: the process respawns.

Is there any way to disable Cortana so that the process doesn't keep running in the background, and doesn't respawn if terminated?

This is not the same as the linked duplicate, because that asks about disabling Cortana - visibly, and not at the process level - for other accounts. I want to know about disabling it at the process level for my own account.

Windows 10 has Cortana, which I don't like. I disabled it as soon as I could. However, looking in Task Manager, the process for Cortana is still running, and can't be effectively terminated: ending the task simply results in the process respawning a few seconds later. Using the command

taskkill /IM Cortana.exe /F

has the same result: the process respawns.

Is there any way to disable Cortana so that the process doesn't keep running in the background, and doesn't respawn if terminated?

This is not the same as the linked duplicate, because that asks about disabling Cortana visibly for other accounts. This question asks about disabling Cortana for my account, and at the process level so it's not even running, instead of appearing disabled.

added 230 characters in body
Source Link
ArtOfCode
  • 3.4k
  • 5
  • 16
  • 19
Loading
Source Link
ArtOfCode
  • 3.4k
  • 5
  • 16
  • 19
Loading