Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1145708771848740864
Copy edited. Dressed the naked link.
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 12.2k
  • 23
  • 72
  • 90

How to fix the Windows 10 boot loader from Windows

I installed Ubuntu on a system that has Windows 10 installed. I can boot to Windows or Ubuntu normally using GRUB. I want to delete Ubuntu partition, but first I must restore the Windows 10 MBR. Here

In https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/927392Use Bootrec.exe in the Windows RE to troubleshoot startup issues (applies to Win7Windows 7 and VistaWindows Vista) they say to use Bootrec.exe with options /FixMbr/FixMbr /FixBoot/FixBoot, but when I type "bootrec.exe /FixMbr" in a command prompt, Windows saysays: 'bootrec.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command.

'bootrec.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command.

I say I can boot to Win10Windows 10 and run a command prompt from there (don'tI don't need to use an installation medium  ), but I don't know what to enter.

How to fix Windows 10 boot loader from Windows

I installed Ubuntu on system that has Windows 10 installed. I can boot to Windows or Ubuntu normally using GRUB. I want to delete Ubuntu partition but first I must restore Windows 10 MBR. Here https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/927392 (applies to Win7 and Vista) they say to use Bootrec.exe with options /FixMbr /FixBoot, but when I type "bootrec.exe /FixMbr" in command prompt Windows say: 'bootrec.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command. I say I can boot to Win10 and run command prompt from there (don't need to use installation medium  ) but don't know what to enter.

How to fix the Windows 10 boot loader from Windows

I installed Ubuntu on a system that has Windows 10 installed. I can boot to Windows or Ubuntu normally using GRUB. I want to delete Ubuntu partition, but first I must restore the Windows 10 MBR.

In Use Bootrec.exe in the Windows RE to troubleshoot startup issues (applies to Windows 7 and Windows Vista) they say to use Bootrec.exe with options /FixMbr /FixBoot, but when I type "bootrec.exe /FixMbr" in a command prompt, Windows says:

'bootrec.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command.

I say I can boot to Windows 10 and run a command prompt from there (I don't need to use an installation medium), but I don't know what to enter.

Question Protected by CommunityBot
edited title
Link
Codyfly
  • 611
  • 1
  • 6
  • 4

How to fix Windows 10 boot loader from Windows

Source Link
Codyfly
  • 611
  • 1
  • 6
  • 4

How to fix Windows 10 boot loader

I installed Ubuntu on system that has Windows 10 installed. I can boot to Windows or Ubuntu normally using GRUB. I want to delete Ubuntu partition but first I must restore Windows 10 MBR. Here https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/927392 (applies to Win7 and Vista) they say to use Bootrec.exe with options /FixMbr /FixBoot, but when I type "bootrec.exe /FixMbr" in command prompt Windows say: 'bootrec.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command. I say I can boot to Win10 and run command prompt from there (don't need to use installation medium ) but don't know what to enter.