Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • 3
    Simplest method. Just install a paid/free security suite and it will automatically disable itself. Outside of that just go to` Update and Security` and disable the Real-Time protection. You cannot disable UAC in Windows 8 and above to the same degree as you could in Windows 7. Of course I am not sure what the UAC has to do with Windows Defender.
    – Ramhound
    Commented Jul 30, 2015 at 20:58
  • I mentioned UAC because it seemed possible that UAC was preventing me from disabling Defender. I haven't deployed the latest Kaspersky that supports Windows 10 yet, and frankly I'm not so confident that Kaspersky will install well with Defender running. Plus I want to be able to disabled it on principle in case I need or want to for other reasons. Commented Jul 30, 2015 at 21:02
  • I opened Update & Security and I am able to disable Windows Defender. Personally I was able to disable the service though after I do that.
    – Ramhound
    Commented Jul 30, 2015 at 21:08
  • Windows Defender is designed to be easily replacable, just install another AV and it should automatically turn off.
    – gronostaj
    Commented Jul 30, 2015 at 21:15
  • 4
    @gronostaj If my question were how to replace Windows Defender with another A/V solution, I would suggest you post your comment as an answer and I'd accept it, except your comment is the same as Ramhound's, so I'd really suggest he do it. But that's not what I'm trying to do. Commented Jul 30, 2015 at 21:26