Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1077308085906141186
deleted 191 characters in body
Source Link
Gareth
  • 18.9k
  • 15
  • 58
  • 69

I created a VM using VirtualBox and realized it was too small. So, i managed (afterAfter some time) I managed to create a new, bigger HDhard drive.

Live GParted CD image (v.022):

GParted screencshot http://i61.tinypic.com/1zeulif.pngGParted screenshot

Now I need to integrate the unallocated space to the /dev/sda5/dev/sda5 partition.

  • Right clicking-clicking on sda5 shows the option to resize but I dont get any free space before or after.
  • I though that maybeperhaps I needneeded to extend the sda2 partition first but right clicking-clicking on sda2 does not allow me to resize.

Do you have any useful advice? Thanks in advance.

*In case the image disappears at some point here is a textual representation of the GParted GUI info:
/dev/sda1 ext2 /dev/sda2 extended /dev/sda5 lvm2 pv unallocated

I created a VM using VirtualBox and realized it was small. So, i managed (after some time) to create a new, bigger HD.

Live GParted CD image (v.022):

GParted screencshot http://i61.tinypic.com/1zeulif.png

Now I need to integrate the unallocated space to the /dev/sda5 partition.

  • Right clicking on sda5 shows the option to resize but I dont get any free space before or after.
  • I though that maybe I need to extend the sda2 partition first but right clicking on sda2 does not allow me to resize.

Do you have any useful advice? Thanks in advance.

*In case the image disappears at some point here is a textual representation of the GParted GUI info:
/dev/sda1 ext2 /dev/sda2 extended /dev/sda5 lvm2 pv unallocated

I created a VM using VirtualBox and realized it was too small. After some time I managed to create a new, bigger hard drive.

Live GParted CD image (v.022):

GParted screenshot

Now I need to integrate the unallocated space to the /dev/sda5 partition.

  • Right-clicking on sda5 shows the option to resize but I dont get any free space before or after.
  • I though that perhaps I needed to extend the sda2 partition first but right-clicking on sda2 does not allow me to resize.

Do you have any useful advice?

fix a typo
Link
Thomas Dickey
  • 8.8k
  • 3
  • 24
  • 32

Gparted cannot resize extended or LVM partitonpartition

added 8 characters in body
Source Link
papnikol
  • 1.6k
  • 4
  • 16
  • 19

I created a VM using VirtualBox and realized it was small. So, i managed (after some time) to create a new, bigger HD.

Live GParted CD image (v.022):

GParted screencshot http://i61.tinypic.com/1zeulif.png

Now I need to integrate the unallocated space to the /dev/sda5 partition.

  • Right clicking on sda5 shows the option to resize but I dont get any free space before or after.
  • I though that maybe I need to extend the sda2 partition first but right clicking on sda2 does not allow me to resize.

Do you have any useful advice? Thanks in advance.

*In case the image disappears at some point here is a textual representation of the GParted GUI info:
/dev/sda1 ext2 /dev/sda2 extended /dev/sda5 lvm2 pv unallocated

I created a VM using VirtualBox and realized it was small. So, i managed (after some time) to create a new, bigger HD.

Live GParted CD image:

GParted screencshot http://i61.tinypic.com/1zeulif.png

Now I need to integrate the unallocated space to the /dev/sda5 partition.

  • Right clicking on sda5 shows the option to resize but I dont get any free space before or after.
  • I though that maybe I need to extend the sda2 partition first but right clicking on sda2 does not allow me to resize.

Do you have any useful advice? Thanks in advance.

*In case the image disappears at some point here is a textual representation of the GParted GUI info:
/dev/sda1 ext2 /dev/sda2 extended /dev/sda5 lvm2 pv unallocated

I created a VM using VirtualBox and realized it was small. So, i managed (after some time) to create a new, bigger HD.

Live GParted CD image (v.022):

GParted screencshot http://i61.tinypic.com/1zeulif.png

Now I need to integrate the unallocated space to the /dev/sda5 partition.

  • Right clicking on sda5 shows the option to resize but I dont get any free space before or after.
  • I though that maybe I need to extend the sda2 partition first but right clicking on sda2 does not allow me to resize.

Do you have any useful advice? Thanks in advance.

*In case the image disappears at some point here is a textual representation of the GParted GUI info:
/dev/sda1 ext2 /dev/sda2 extended /dev/sda5 lvm2 pv unallocated

Source Link
papnikol
  • 1.6k
  • 4
  • 16
  • 19
Loading