Skip to main content
Clarify the context as it was recognized by expert to be VirtualPC VM and not others VMs
Source Link

I am running XP mode under Windows 7, for testing / troubleshooting software.

I am trying to install a third party driver(unidrv printer), and I get stuck at

Setup failed to locate required files. 
It is required to provide the path of "I386" in Windows installation disc.
Click Browse to provide the appropriate path.

I have tried every location containing unidrv or other dlls on the VM (XP running "inside" virtual PC), as well as any I386 folders, but the installer was not happy.

My guess, it actually wants the installation disk... except, I don't have one !

How can I get an XP I386 folder from the installation disk, while running XP mode on Windows 7 ?

I am running XP mode under Windows 7, for testing / troubleshooting software.

I am trying to install a third party driver(unidrv printer), and I get stuck at

Setup failed to locate required files. 
It is required to provide the path of "I386" in Windows installation disc.
Click Browse to provide the appropriate path.

I have tried every location containing unidrv or other dlls on the VM, as well as any I386 folders, but the installer was not happy.

My guess, it actually wants the installation disk... except, I don't have one !

How can I get an XP I386 folder from the installation disk, while running XP mode on Windows 7 ?

I am running XP mode under Windows 7, for testing / troubleshooting software.

I am trying to install a third party driver(unidrv printer), and I get stuck at

Setup failed to locate required files. 
It is required to provide the path of "I386" in Windows installation disc.
Click Browse to provide the appropriate path.

I have tried every location containing unidrv or other dlls on the VM (XP running "inside" virtual PC), as well as any I386 folders, but the installer was not happy.

My guess, it actually wants the installation disk... except, I don't have one !

How can I get an XP I386 folder from the installation disk, while running XP mode on Windows 7 ?

Expert point it out it was VirtualPc used which is very unclear in the question as there is many VM engine possible
Link
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/super_user/status/581445812426813440
Source Link
Thalia
  • 658
  • 5
  • 13
  • 28

Windows XP installation disk for XP Mode under Windows 7?

I am running XP mode under Windows 7, for testing / troubleshooting software.

I am trying to install a third party driver(unidrv printer), and I get stuck at

Setup failed to locate required files. 
It is required to provide the path of "I386" in Windows installation disc.
Click Browse to provide the appropriate path.

I have tried every location containing unidrv or other dlls on the VM, as well as any I386 folders, but the installer was not happy.

My guess, it actually wants the installation disk... except, I don't have one !

How can I get an XP I386 folder from the installation disk, while running XP mode on Windows 7 ?