Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • Thanks MM. I connected my wall socket directly to my laptop using an ethernet cable and got internet connection, but it was still slow (presume my laptop has in-built modem to deal with this). Agree, seems to point to the line. Can I check noise on the line or do other tests at this point? My facilities manager is not keen on calling the ISP (as my house is the only one complaining, of several). Btw, any thoughts on what IS wrong with the router? Something is not right, even if it is not related to the main problem.
    – hoojaa
    Commented Feb 15, 2015 at 3:03
  • What you have here is a strange problem. Usually, resetting a router and then using default credentials (typically admin/password, or listed on bottom of router.) Obviously, you have already done that. I would suggest looking on the bottom of your router and seeing if there's some info there: there's a ton of info on ours that helps for debugging purposes. Also, for setup, try using Ethernet instead of WiFi, that can eliminate some problems. Commented Feb 15, 2015 at 3:07