Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 15, 2015 at 15:18 comment added hoojaa Thanks David. I'll look into MTR (I'll need to do some research). The router is displaying very odd behaviour, even after a factory reset it has no wifi password by default, and it is strange that it will only allow me to add a password/change settings for just a few seconds after a factory reset, then will block me. Also having to enter passwords five times to gain access to router options is strange.
Feb 15, 2015 at 4:10 comment added davidgo Why do you think the problem is with the router ? The way I do it (I used to run an ISP so know more then most) is to run a continuous ping and monitor the latency and packet loss, and also graph the utilization. How I did that is really beyond the scope of a SU question - but I have proven to more then 1 ISP they have a problem when they initially denied it. That said, your traceroutes alone show an issue - Mabye run MTR/WinMTR for a few hours and provide that - 500+ ms latency after hop 3 shows a definate issue most providers should accept.
Feb 15, 2015 at 2:55 comment added hoojaa To clarify - whether it is directly impacting the speed issues or not, something is not right with the router and that makes me uncomfortable.
Feb 15, 2015 at 2:52 comment added hoojaa Thanks David. I agree, I think there is a problem with the line. But also with router. Could be coincidence; would still value insights. Presume the line is ADSL but don't know - it's clearly not e.g. cable. No other phones/filters in the property, prob some in adjoining house. The router is connected straight to the wall. Not using VPN (on personal laptop). Are there any tests or checks I can run to convince my facilities manager to look into this ('it's slow' doesn't seem to work). Colleagues nearby are not having quite the same difficulties (we're not in UK so no-one has amazing service)
Feb 15, 2015 at 1:56 history answered davidgo CC BY-SA 3.0