Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

At work I am using Ubuntu GNU/Linux 14.04. When I open a new tab in the gnome terminal, the working directory of the new shell is the same as in the terminal where I have pressed CTRL-SHIFT-T.

At home I have Debian Wheezy, and here the default behaviour is to open the new shell in my home directory. I cannot find any documentation as to how to change this behaviour: I would like to have the Ubuntu behaviour on Debian.

Is this feature configurable at all or is it hard-coded, with different versions providing different behaviours? I have read the documentation and searched for a question on stack exchange but I could not find any information.

EDIT

I have looked into my .bashrc and indeed there was some complicated setup that ended up changing / resetting the path. So, I have come one step further but I still have one problem, which is illustrated in this still unanswered questionthis still unanswered question: if the path I am in uses some symbolic link, then the new shell uses the canonical path. Is there a known fix for this problem?

At work I am using Ubuntu GNU/Linux 14.04. When I open a new tab in the gnome terminal, the working directory of the new shell is the same as in the terminal where I have pressed CTRL-SHIFT-T.

At home I have Debian Wheezy, and here the default behaviour is to open the new shell in my home directory. I cannot find any documentation as to how to change this behaviour: I would like to have the Ubuntu behaviour on Debian.

Is this feature configurable at all or is it hard-coded, with different versions providing different behaviours? I have read the documentation and searched for a question on stack exchange but I could not find any information.

EDIT

I have looked into my .bashrc and indeed there was some complicated setup that ended up changing / resetting the path. So, I have come one step further but I still have one problem, which is illustrated in this still unanswered question: if the path I am in uses some symbolic link, then the new shell uses the canonical path. Is there a known fix for this problem?

At work I am using Ubuntu GNU/Linux 14.04. When I open a new tab in the gnome terminal, the working directory of the new shell is the same as in the terminal where I have pressed CTRL-SHIFT-T.

At home I have Debian Wheezy, and here the default behaviour is to open the new shell in my home directory. I cannot find any documentation as to how to change this behaviour: I would like to have the Ubuntu behaviour on Debian.

Is this feature configurable at all or is it hard-coded, with different versions providing different behaviours? I have read the documentation and searched for a question on stack exchange but I could not find any information.

EDIT

I have looked into my .bashrc and indeed there was some complicated setup that ended up changing / resetting the path. So, I have come one step further but I still have one problem, which is illustrated in this still unanswered question: if the path I am in uses some symbolic link, then the new shell uses the canonical path. Is there a known fix for this problem?

remove tab tag
Source Link
bertieb
  • 7.5k
  • 36
  • 43
  • 54

At work I am using Ubuntu GNU/Linux 14.04. When I open a new tab in the gnome terminal, the working directory of the new shell is the same as in the terminal where I have pressed CTRL-SHIFT-TCTRL-SHIFT-T.

At home I have Debian Wheezy, and here the default behaviour is to open the new shell in my home directory. I cannot find any documentation as to how to change this behaviour: I would like to have the Ubuntu behaviour on Debian.

Is this feature configurable at all or is it hard-coded, with different versions providing different behaviours? I have read the documentation and searched for a question on stack exchange but I could not find any information.

EDIT

I have looked into my .bashrc and indeed there was some complicated setup that ended up changing / resetting the path. So, I have come one step further but I still have one problem, which is illustrated in this still unanswered question: if the path I am in uses some symbolic link, then the new shell uses the canonical path. Is there a known fix for this problem?

At work I am using Ubuntu GNU/Linux 14.04. When I open a new tab in the gnome terminal, the working directory of the new shell is the same as in the terminal where I have pressed CTRL-SHIFT-T.

At home I have Debian Wheezy, and here the default behaviour is to open the new shell in my home directory. I cannot find any documentation as to how to change this behaviour: I would like to have the Ubuntu behaviour on Debian.

Is this feature configurable at all or is it hard-coded, with different versions providing different behaviours? I have read the documentation and searched for a question on stack exchange but I could not find any information.

EDIT

I have looked into my .bashrc and indeed there was some complicated setup that ended up changing / resetting the path. So, I have come one step further but I still have one problem, which is illustrated in this still unanswered question: if the path I am in uses some symbolic link, then the new shell uses the canonical path. Is there a known fix for this problem?

At work I am using Ubuntu GNU/Linux 14.04. When I open a new tab in the gnome terminal, the working directory of the new shell is the same as in the terminal where I have pressed CTRL-SHIFT-T.

At home I have Debian Wheezy, and here the default behaviour is to open the new shell in my home directory. I cannot find any documentation as to how to change this behaviour: I would like to have the Ubuntu behaviour on Debian.

Is this feature configurable at all or is it hard-coded, with different versions providing different behaviours? I have read the documentation and searched for a question on stack exchange but I could not find any information.

EDIT

I have looked into my .bashrc and indeed there was some complicated setup that ended up changing / resetting the path. So, I have come one step further but I still have one problem, which is illustrated in this still unanswered question: if the path I am in uses some symbolic link, then the new shell uses the canonical path. Is there a known fix for this problem?

Notice removed Draw attention by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with no winning answer by CommunityBot
added 482 characters in body
Source Link
Giorgio
  • 217
  • 1
  • 7
  • 17

At work I am using Ubuntu GNU/Linux 14.04. When I open a new tab in the gnome terminal, the working directory of the new shell is the same as in the terminal where I have pressed CTRL-SHIFT-T.

At home I have Debian Wheezy, and here the default behaviour is to open the new shell in my home directory. I cannot find any documentation as to how to change this behaviour: I would like to have the Ubuntu behaviour on Debian.

Is this feature configurable at all or is it hard-coded, with different versions providing different behaviours? I have read the documentation and searched for a question on stack exchange but I could not find any information.

EDIT

I have looked into my .bashrc and indeed there was some complicated setup that ended up changing / resetting the path. So, I have come one step further but I still have one problem, which is illustrated in this still unanswered question: if the path I am in uses some symbolic link, then the new shell uses the canonical path. Is there a known fix for this problem?

At work I am using Ubuntu GNU/Linux 14.04. When I open a new tab in the gnome terminal, the working directory of the new shell is the same as in the terminal where I have pressed CTRL-SHIFT-T.

At home I have Debian Wheezy, and here the default behaviour is to open the new shell in my home directory. I cannot find any documentation as to how to change this behaviour: I would like to have the Ubuntu behaviour on Debian.

Is this feature configurable at all or is it hard-coded, with different versions providing different behaviours? I have read the documentation and searched for a question on stack exchange but I could not find any information.

At work I am using Ubuntu GNU/Linux 14.04. When I open a new tab in the gnome terminal, the working directory of the new shell is the same as in the terminal where I have pressed CTRL-SHIFT-T.

At home I have Debian Wheezy, and here the default behaviour is to open the new shell in my home directory. I cannot find any documentation as to how to change this behaviour: I would like to have the Ubuntu behaviour on Debian.

Is this feature configurable at all or is it hard-coded, with different versions providing different behaviours? I have read the documentation and searched for a question on stack exchange but I could not find any information.

EDIT

I have looked into my .bashrc and indeed there was some complicated setup that ended up changing / resetting the path. So, I have come one step further but I still have one problem, which is illustrated in this still unanswered question: if the path I am in uses some symbolic link, then the new shell uses the canonical path. Is there a known fix for this problem?

Notice added Draw attention by Giorgio
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by Giorgio
Source Link
Giorgio
  • 217
  • 1
  • 7
  • 17
Loading