Skip to main content
added 179 characters in body
Source Link

How can I identify and mount the filesystem from a old Unix machine ?

  • Using file to the dd image simply reports X86 boot block.
  • Using testdisk and checking the bootblack I get multiple entries called Solaris Home but testdisk is unable to access the filesystem structure.
  • I have the idea of being with VXFs but calling VXFS in mount is reports same error.
  • Tried to use kpartx in order to access only the "inside" partition but still with no success.
  • Using checked the first bytes (in the loopback partition mapped from kpartx ) with hexdump /dev/mapper/loop0p4 -C | head -n 1 resulting in

00000000 fa ea 06 00 c0 07 8c c8 8e c0 8e d8 8e d0 66 bc |..............f.|

Tried mount with UFS, Minix, VXFs and several others with no success.

How can I identify and mount the filesystem from a old Unix machine ?

  • Using file to the dd image simply reports X86 boot block.
  • Using testdisk and checking the bootblack I get multiple entries called Solaris Home but testdisk is unable to access the filesystem structure.
  • I have the idea of being with VXFs but calling VXFS in mount is reports same error.
  • Tried to use kpartx in order to access only the "inside" partition but still with no success.

Tried mount with UFS, Minix, VXFs and several others with no success.

How can I identify and mount the filesystem from a old Unix machine ?

  • Using file to the dd image simply reports X86 boot block.
  • Using testdisk and checking the bootblack I get multiple entries called Solaris Home but testdisk is unable to access the filesystem structure.
  • I have the idea of being with VXFs but calling VXFS in mount reports same error.
  • Tried to use kpartx in order to access only the "inside" partition but still with no success.
  • Using checked the first bytes (in the loopback partition mapped from kpartx ) with hexdump /dev/mapper/loop0p4 -C | head -n 1 resulting in

00000000 fa ea 06 00 c0 07 8c c8 8e c0 8e d8 8e d0 66 bc |..............f.|

Tried mount with UFS, Minix, VXFs and several others with no success.

How can I identify and mount the filesystem from a old Unix machine ?

Using file to the dd image simply reports "X86 boot block" ... Using "testdisk" and checking the bootblock I get multiple entries called "Solaris Home" but testdisk is unable to acces the filesystem structure ...

I have the idea of being with VXFs but calling VXFS in mount is reports same error...

Tried to use kpartx in order to access only the "inside" partition but still with no success...

  • Using file to the dd image simply reports X86 boot block.
  • Using testdisk and checking the bootblack I get multiple entries called Solaris Home but testdisk is unable to access the filesystem structure.
  • I have the idea of being with VXFs but calling VXFS in mount is reports same error.
  • Tried to use kpartx in order to access only the "inside" partition but still with no success.

Tried mount with UFS  , Minix, vxfsVXFs and several others with no success ... Any ideas ?

How can I identify and mount the filesystem from a old Unix machine ?

Using file to the dd image simply reports "X86 boot block" ... Using "testdisk" and checking the bootblock I get multiple entries called "Solaris Home" but testdisk is unable to acces the filesystem structure ...

I have the idea of being with VXFs but calling VXFS in mount is reports same error...

Tried to use kpartx in order to access only the "inside" partition but still with no success...

Tried mount with UFS  , Minix, vxfs and several others with no success ... Any ideas ?

How can I identify and mount the filesystem from a old Unix machine ?

  • Using file to the dd image simply reports X86 boot block.
  • Using testdisk and checking the bootblack I get multiple entries called Solaris Home but testdisk is unable to access the filesystem structure.
  • I have the idea of being with VXFs but calling VXFS in mount is reports same error.
  • Tried to use kpartx in order to access only the "inside" partition but still with no success.

Tried mount with UFS, Minix, VXFs and several others with no success.

added 121 characters in body
Source Link

How can I identify and mount the filesystem from a old Unix machine ?

Using file to the dd image simply reports "X86 boot block" ... Using "testdisk" and checking the bootblock I get multiple entries called "Solaris Home" but testdisk is unable to acces the filesystem structure ...

I have the idea of being with VXFs but calling VXFS in mount is reports same error...

Tried to use kpartx in order to access only the "inside" partition but still with no success...

Tried mount with UFS , minixMinix, vxfs and several others with no success ... Any ideas ?

How can I identify and mount the filesystem from a old Unix machine ?

Using file to the dd image simply reports "X86 boot block" ... Using "testdisk" and checking the bootblock I get multiple entries called "Solaris Home" but testdisk is unable to acces the filesystem structure ...

I have the idea of being with VXFs but calling VXFS in mount is reports same error...

Tried mount with UFS , minix and several others ... Any ideas ?

How can I identify and mount the filesystem from a old Unix machine ?

Using file to the dd image simply reports "X86 boot block" ... Using "testdisk" and checking the bootblock I get multiple entries called "Solaris Home" but testdisk is unable to acces the filesystem structure ...

I have the idea of being with VXFs but calling VXFS in mount is reports same error...

Tried to use kpartx in order to access only the "inside" partition but still with no success...

Tried mount with UFS , Minix, vxfs and several others with no success ... Any ideas ?

Source Link
Loading