Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 2, 2017 at 1:04 comment added Brethlosze What about the permission of the subfolders inside every folder?? I had this problem with a Users folder being setting up to Everyone in the sharing options, but with permissions to SYSTEM and others more (different than Everyone) in the filesystem. I plugged an external HDD set up as Everyone in the root folder and all subfolders in the permissions, and this is the only device being able to be shared. Can anybody confirm this??
Sep 17, 2016 at 6:31 comment added Pavel P @Vinayak seems like it. In my case originally everything worked fine, then I tried to enable home groups, but a bit later I had to disable it (because it requires IPv6 which I believe has some new bugs that didn't exist in Win8 and I completely removed ipv6 from my win10). After I disabled home groups all my shares stopped working: passwords worked, but I wasn't able to access contents. Restart fixed the problem
Sep 17, 2016 at 6:14 comment added Vinayak @Pavel Ah, the 'ol "have you tried turning it off and on again?"
Sep 16, 2016 at 18:07 comment added Pavel P @Vinayak no, it's a windows bug, I'm sure. I use password protected sharing, and I enter username/pass before I see list of shared folders. But when I click a folder it just gets stuck trying to open it and it takes like a minute before it fails. I got the same problem on both desktops. At the same time there are also shared folders from ubuntu and everything obviously works... The reason I'm absolutely confident that it's a bug in windows: eventually trying all kinds of combinations I resorted to deadly weapon and restarted both desktops and suddenly sharing works
Sep 16, 2016 at 18:00 comment added Vinayak @Pavel that could be a permissions problem. Check the Sharing tab in the Properties window of a folder you're sharing and click the Share button. Type in "Everyone" and click Add. If you're now able to access that folder from the other computer, you may need to change your sharing permissions.
Sep 16, 2016 at 17:52 comment added Pavel P In my case when I open \\HOSTNAME between two win10 PCs I see list of all shared folders. The problem is that if I click any of the folders it starts "thinking" for a very long time before failing to open it
Aug 4, 2014 at 23:12 comment added Vinayak If that doesn't work, try creating a homegroup and make W7 participate in the homegroup and see if that helps.
Aug 4, 2014 at 23:10 comment added Vinayak Try turning password protected sharing off and sharing folders as I suggested. Also make sure network discovery is turned on.
Aug 4, 2014 at 23:05 comment added Jimmy "Turn off password protected sharing" was off, but I tried turning it on as it seems to be what I need for "advanced sharing"? However turning it on did not make a difference. The shared folders are indeed present when viewing \\localhost on w8. I shared a folder as you suggested (that was previously off, as I was using 'advanced sharing'), but it didn't make a difference. The blocking issue appears that w7 (and other machines) just can't see (including ping) w8.
Aug 4, 2014 at 21:55 history answered Vinayak CC BY-SA 3.0