Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • This is the only method that solved it. May be the whole problem is related to a .doc vs. .docx compatibility issue. I my case, the document was indeed created from a .doc before. The affected headings additionally lost bold formatting for the numbering after the repair. Putting that back and saving as .doc again results in a message that formatting would be lost. So, saved as .docx, loosing compatibility, and the black background went back - at least sometimes, seems to depend on the exact order of actions. I finally managed to get it to work with your method. Thanks.
    – Adrian W
    Commented Jun 13, 2018 at 9:26
  • Thanks for this answer. I couldn't get it to work by following your answer completely, but here's what I did to solve it. I have word 2016. I solved my problem by following steps 1 and 2 in your answer, but instead of 3, I went to File -> Convert (Compatibility Mode) which upgraded my document back to a .docx. Then I did ctrl + s to save it. The headings now persist. Hooray! Commented Oct 2, 2018 at 14:49
  • 2
    +1. Thank you for ending my frustration. Yes I'm writing this in 2019. Commented Feb 10, 2019 at 16:11
  • saving as Word 1997-2003 format do the trick Commented Mar 24, 2019 at 9:42
  • 1
    This worked for my by stopping at step 3 (i.e. don't resave again and remove the compatibility option).
    – morgb
    Commented Sep 4, 2019 at 18:25