Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 29, 2014 at 16:15 comment added Muffinbubble Using HDMI to TV comes with other issues, a simpler test would be to use VGA to a monitor (if you laptop has VGA). The fact it doesn't boot into Windows and you can't even see a boot screen and with the colours you saw would indicate to me a hardware issue with your graphics card. But as mentioned before, I'd look at removing your RAM chips one at a time or any hardware you can remove to see if it makes a difference. Faulty RAM can prevent bootups.
Jun 29, 2014 at 15:10 comment added Kešu I tried booting with/without battery and with/without power cord connected, which changed nothing. I tried connecting the laptop to a TV with HDMI cable (hope it's okay that I didn't try with actual monitor), but it changed nothing, the TV got no signal from the laptop. I also tried to access BIOS with no success.
Jun 29, 2014 at 12:12 comment added Muffinbubble I'd try connect to an external monitor, see if you get any display. Try boot it with and without the power lead connected, try boot without the battery but AC connected, possibly replace the CMOS battery (if easy to access) but can't see that doing much, it's also worth taking out components on laptops such as either the hard drive or memory as they're usually easily accessible and see if you see different results. Try instantly hitting F2 (or F12), whatever the BIOS button is for that make/model too.
Jun 29, 2014 at 9:55 comment added Kešu When saying monitor I'm reffering to laptop screen - it show absolutely nothing, like it doesn't even power up. I don't recall installing any major software recently and the shutdown happened while I was playing, unexpectedly. But as I said it seems very similar to my last problem with the laptop as written above...
Jun 29, 2014 at 9:51 history answered Muffinbubble CC BY-SA 3.0