Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Your answer looks close to what I was thinking. Regarding step 5. I am considering gddrescue instead of dd. Regarding step 6. My fstab for /boot and /swap or using GUID/UUID's. My lv's are id'd by logical volume names: /dev/mapper/machine_name-lvroot /root etc. Would that need to change?
    – aspi
    Commented Nov 7, 2013 at 0:01
  • No, no need to change, Everything's fine, including gddrescue. You are good to go. Commented Nov 7, 2013 at 4:55
  • Just now able to get back to this. boot-repair didn't work it's broken (at least the version for my Ubuntu 10.04 LTS) I want to chainload grub2 from NTLDR Leaving grub on it's own /boot partition and with Linux setting in a LV. All the original Linux partitions are now dd'd into my extended partition. So I need to reinstall grub2 manually? But for this setup I can't figure out how. The partition scheme is: /dos - contains: NTLDR, boot.ini, /ext - contains: windows OS, 3 NTFS data partitions, as well as /boot (grub2) and the LVM2 VG (Linux OS). Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    – aspi
    Commented Dec 13, 2013 at 17:32
  • After a considerable amount of research, I finally found the time to solve my problem. I wanted to give you credit for your help and excellent advice. So I'm accepting your answer. I do have a detailed write-up that might be helpful for someone else facing an edge case such as mine. Would it be a good idea to post that here?
    – aspi
    Commented Dec 18, 2013 at 12:18
  • @aspi By all means. There will be other people with a similar problem, they will surely find it useful. Commented Dec 18, 2013 at 12:20