Skip to main content
I already have an answer!
Source Link
gparyani
  • 1.8k
  • 9
  • 30
  • 49

If I install a virtual machine additions package on a virtual machine, (e.g. Virtual Machine Additions for Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, Integration Components on Windows Virtual PC, and Guest Additions on Oracle VM VirtualBox), what happens in the backend on the virtual machine when I enable integration features like mouse pointer integration, window resizing, and folder sharing? In other words, how are integration features internally implemented?

For mouse pointer integration, in Virtual PC, with integration features enabled, the mouse moves much faster, and, on the bottom and right edges, parts of the guest cursor are visible on the outside. With it disabled, the cursor moves more slowly. My suspicion is that with integration enabled, the cursor is actually a part of the host OS, and it sends the commands to the guest. I've heard reports that installing integration software on a host PC causes my cursor to disappear. I also know that shared folders are implemented as network drives. Am I right?

I'm looking for an answer that discusses each integration feature specifically and how it is implemented in several popular emulators, with authoritative references.

If I install a virtual machine additions package on a virtual machine, (e.g. Virtual Machine Additions for Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, Integration Components on Windows Virtual PC, and Guest Additions on Oracle VM VirtualBox), what happens in the backend on the virtual machine when I enable integration features like mouse pointer integration, window resizing, and folder sharing? In other words, how are integration features internally implemented?

For mouse pointer integration, in Virtual PC, with integration features enabled, the mouse moves much faster, and, on the bottom and right edges, parts of the guest cursor are visible on the outside. With it disabled, the cursor moves more slowly. My suspicion is that with integration enabled, the cursor is actually a part of the host OS, and it sends the commands to the guest. I've heard reports that installing integration software on a host PC causes my cursor to disappear. I also know that shared folders are implemented as network drives. Am I right?

I'm looking for an answer that discusses each integration feature specifically and how it is implemented in several popular emulators, with authoritative references.

If I install a virtual machine additions package on a virtual machine, (e.g. Virtual Machine Additions for Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, Integration Components on Windows Virtual PC, and Guest Additions on Oracle VM VirtualBox), what happens in the backend on the virtual machine when I enable integration features like mouse pointer integration, window resizing, and folder sharing? In other words, how are integration features internally implemented?

For mouse pointer integration, in Virtual PC, with integration features enabled, the mouse moves much faster, and, on the bottom and right edges, parts of the guest cursor are visible on the outside. With it disabled, the cursor moves more slowly. My suspicion is that with integration enabled, the cursor is actually a part of the host OS, and it sends the commands to the guest. I've heard reports that installing integration software on a host PC causes my cursor to disappear. I also know that shared folders are implemented as network drives. Am I right?

Rollback to Revision 6
Source Link
gparyani
  • 1.8k
  • 9
  • 30
  • 49

How are virtual machine integration packages implemented internally in Virtual PC?

If I install Integration Components or Virtual Machine Additionsa virtual machine additions package on a virtual machine in Microsoft, (Windows)e.g. Virtual Machine Additions for Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, Integration Components on Windows Virtual PC, and Guest Additions on Oracle VM VirtualBox), what happens in the backend on the virtual machine when I enable integration features like mouse pointer integration, window resizing, and folder sharing? In other words, how are integration features internally implemented in Virtual PC?

For mouse pointer integration, in Virtual PC, with integration features enabled, the mouse moves much faster, and, on the bottom and right edges, parts of the guest cursor are visible on the outside. With it disabled, the cursor moves more slowly. My suspicion is that with integration enabled, the cursor is actually a part of the host OS, and it sends the commands to the guest. I've heard reports that installing integration software on a host PC causes my cursor to disappear. I also know that shared folders are implemented as network drives. Am I right?

I'm looking for an answer that discusses each integration feature specifically and how it is implemented in Virtual PC specificallyseveral popular emulators, with authoritative references.

How are virtual machine integration packages implemented internally in Virtual PC?

If I install Integration Components or Virtual Machine Additions on a virtual machine in Microsoft (Windows) Virtual PC, what happens in the backend on the virtual machine when I enable integration features like mouse pointer integration, window resizing, and folder sharing? In other words, how are integration features internally implemented in Virtual PC?

For mouse pointer integration, in Virtual PC, with integration features enabled, the mouse moves much faster, and, on the bottom and right edges, parts of the guest cursor are visible on the outside. With it disabled, the cursor moves more slowly. My suspicion is that with integration enabled, the cursor is actually a part of the host OS, and it sends the commands to the guest. I've heard reports that installing integration software on a host PC causes my cursor to disappear. I also know that shared folders are implemented as network drives. Am I right?

I'm looking for an answer that discusses each integration feature and how it is implemented in Virtual PC specifically, with authoritative references.

How are virtual machine integration packages implemented internally?

If I install a virtual machine additions package on a virtual machine, (e.g. Virtual Machine Additions for Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, Integration Components on Windows Virtual PC, and Guest Additions on Oracle VM VirtualBox), what happens in the backend on the virtual machine when I enable integration features like mouse pointer integration, window resizing, and folder sharing? In other words, how are integration features internally implemented?

For mouse pointer integration, in Virtual PC, with integration features enabled, the mouse moves much faster, and, on the bottom and right edges, parts of the guest cursor are visible on the outside. With it disabled, the cursor moves more slowly. My suspicion is that with integration enabled, the cursor is actually a part of the host OS, and it sends the commands to the guest. I've heard reports that installing integration software on a host PC causes my cursor to disappear. I also know that shared folders are implemented as network drives. Am I right?

I'm looking for an answer that discusses each integration feature specifically and how it is implemented in several popular emulators, with authoritative references.

Post Reopened by Kevin Panko, Oliver Salzburg
narrow question by making it pertain to just one emulator
Source Link
gparyani
  • 1.8k
  • 9
  • 30
  • 49

How are virtual machine integration packages implemented internally in Virtual PC?

If I install a virtual machine additions packageIntegration Components or Virtual Machine Additions on a virtual machine, in Microsoft (e.g. Virtual Machine Additions for Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, Integration Components on WindowsWindows) Virtual PC, and Guest Additions on Oracle VM VirtualBox), what happens in the backend on the virtual machine when I enable integration features like mouse pointer integration, window resizing, and folder sharing? In other words, how are integration features internally implemented in Virtual PC?

For mouse pointer integration, in Virtual PC, with integration features enabled, the mouse moves much faster, and, on the bottom and right edges, parts of the guest cursor are visible on the outside. With it disabled, the cursor moves more slowly. My suspicion is that with integration enabled, the cursor is actually a part of the host OS, and it sends the commands to the guest. I've heard reports that installing integration software on a host PC causes my cursor to disappear. I also know that shared folders are implemented as network drives. Am I right?

I'm looking for an answer that discusses each integration feature specifically and how it is implemented in several popular emulatorsVirtual PC specifically, with authoritative references.

How are virtual machine integration packages implemented internally?

If I install a virtual machine additions package on a virtual machine, (e.g. Virtual Machine Additions for Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, Integration Components on Windows Virtual PC, and Guest Additions on Oracle VM VirtualBox), what happens in the backend on the virtual machine when I enable integration features like mouse pointer integration, window resizing, and folder sharing? In other words, how are integration features internally implemented?

For mouse pointer integration, in Virtual PC, with integration features enabled, the mouse moves much faster, and, on the bottom and right edges, parts of the guest cursor are visible on the outside. With it disabled, the cursor moves more slowly. My suspicion is that with integration enabled, the cursor is actually a part of the host OS, and it sends the commands to the guest. I've heard reports that installing integration software on a host PC causes my cursor to disappear. I also know that shared folders are implemented as network drives. Am I right?

I'm looking for an answer that discusses each integration feature specifically and how it is implemented in several popular emulators, with authoritative references.

How are virtual machine integration packages implemented internally in Virtual PC?

If I install Integration Components or Virtual Machine Additions on a virtual machine in Microsoft (Windows) Virtual PC, what happens in the backend on the virtual machine when I enable integration features like mouse pointer integration, window resizing, and folder sharing? In other words, how are integration features internally implemented in Virtual PC?

For mouse pointer integration, in Virtual PC, with integration features enabled, the mouse moves much faster, and, on the bottom and right edges, parts of the guest cursor are visible on the outside. With it disabled, the cursor moves more slowly. My suspicion is that with integration enabled, the cursor is actually a part of the host OS, and it sends the commands to the guest. I've heard reports that installing integration software on a host PC causes my cursor to disappear. I also know that shared folders are implemented as network drives. Am I right?

I'm looking for an answer that discusses each integration feature and how it is implemented in Virtual PC specifically, with authoritative references.

Post Closed as "Needs more focus" by Mokubai, user201262, Darth Android, Mike Fitzpatrick, MariusMatutiae
edited tags
Link
gparyani
  • 1.8k
  • 9
  • 30
  • 49
Loading
added 55 characters in body
Source Link
gparyani
  • 1.8k
  • 9
  • 30
  • 49
Loading
added 15 characters in body
Source Link
gparyani
  • 1.8k
  • 9
  • 30
  • 49
Loading
added 64 characters in body
Source Link
gparyani
  • 1.8k
  • 9
  • 30
  • 49
Loading
added 618 characters in body
Source Link
gparyani
  • 1.8k
  • 9
  • 30
  • 49
Loading
Source Link
gparyani
  • 1.8k
  • 9
  • 30
  • 49
Loading