Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Question Protected by bwDraco
flavour of the day (since the answer matches initial premise, not just tools, we'll salvage)
Source Link
random
  • 15.1k
  • 9
  • 55
  • 58

Tools Using GParted to convert GPT to MBR without access to an OS

I wiped my Windows 8 thinking I could install Win7Windows 7 x86 but I can't because the disk is GPT. I need to convert to MBR. Is there a tool

I'm trying to do that? Maybe I wrong:use GParted to convert to MBR but it seems like GParted can only do the opposite?

updated

I ended up using Rod Smith's GParted solution. But I think either solution will work. Can GParted be made to convert to MBR?

Tools to convert GPT to MBR without access to an OS

I wiped my Windows 8 thinking I could install Win7 x86 but I can't because the disk is GPT. I need to convert to MBR. Is there a tool to do that? Maybe I wrong: but it seems like GParted can only do the opposite?

updated

I ended up using Rod Smith's GParted solution. But I think either solution will work.

Using GParted to convert GPT to MBR without access to an OS

I wiped my Windows 8 thinking I could install Windows 7 x86 but I can't because the disk is GPT. I need to convert to MBR.

I'm trying to use GParted to convert to MBR but it seems GParted can only do the opposite. Can GParted be made to convert to MBR?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/super_user/status/376566151482195968
added 107 characters in body
Source Link
CppLearner
  • 651
  • 3
  • 8
  • 20

I wiped my Windows 8 thinking I could install Win7 x86 but I can't because the disk is GPT. I need to convert to MBR. Is there a tool to do that? Maybe I wrong: but it seems like GParted can only do the opposite?

updated

I ended up using Rod Smith's GParted solution. But I think either solution will work.

I wiped my Windows 8 thinking I could install Win7 x86 but I can't because the disk is GPT. I need to convert to MBR. Is there a tool to do that? Maybe I wrong: but it seems like GParted can only do the opposite?

I wiped my Windows 8 thinking I could install Win7 x86 but I can't because the disk is GPT. I need to convert to MBR. Is there a tool to do that? Maybe I wrong: but it seems like GParted can only do the opposite?

updated

I ended up using Rod Smith's GParted solution. But I think either solution will work.

Source Link
CppLearner
  • 651
  • 3
  • 8
  • 20

Tools to convert GPT to MBR without access to an OS

I wiped my Windows 8 thinking I could install Win7 x86 but I can't because the disk is GPT. I need to convert to MBR. Is there a tool to do that? Maybe I wrong: but it seems like GParted can only do the opposite?