Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link

I currently use a WRT54G2 to extend my network to other place of my house connected by an ethernet cable. It is configured as gateway, with DHCP disable, and works fine. This allow me to connect 3 more devices (since I'm using one of the ports). But now I need to connect a 4th computer and I need one more port.

I know I could just add a routerswitch or connect the new computer view WIFI, but I'd like to know if I can configure my router in such way that it uses the "Internet" port for the connection that comes from my DSL router.

The manual says that it is for use to connect a DSL or Cable modem, but I tried to connect my incoming connection to it, but when I do that, while my computers keep their lan connections Ithey can't reach the DHCP server at the DSL router to get the IP's, it fails and the computers lost the internet connectivity.

I currently use a WRT54G2 to extend my network to other place of my house connected by an ethernet cable. It is configured as gateway, with DHCP disable, and works fine. This allow me to connect 3 more devices (since I'm using one of the ports). But now I need to connect a 4th computer and I need one more port.

I know I could just add a router or connect the new computer view WIFI, but I'd like to know if I can configure my router in such way that it uses the "Internet" port for the connection that comes from my DSL router.

The manual says that it is for use to connect a DSL or Cable modem, but I tried to connect my incoming connection to it, but when I do that, while my computers keep their lan connections I can't reach the DSL router to get the IP's, it fails and the computers lost the internet connectivity.

I currently use a WRT54G2 to extend my network to other place of my house connected by an ethernet cable. It is configured as gateway, with DHCP disable, and works fine. This allow me to connect 3 more devices (since I'm using one of the ports). But now I need to connect a 4th computer and I need one more port.

I know I could just add a switch or connect the new computer view WIFI, but I'd like to know if I can configure my router in such way that it uses the "Internet" port for the connection that comes from my DSL router.

The manual says that it is for use to connect a DSL or Cable modem, but I tried to connect my incoming connection to it, but when I do that, while my computers keep their lan connections they can't reach the DHCP server at the DSL router to get the IP's, it fails and the computers lost the internet connectivity.

Source Link

Configure WRT54G2 to use Internet Port

I currently use a WRT54G2 to extend my network to other place of my house connected by an ethernet cable. It is configured as gateway, with DHCP disable, and works fine. This allow me to connect 3 more devices (since I'm using one of the ports). But now I need to connect a 4th computer and I need one more port.

I know I could just add a router or connect the new computer view WIFI, but I'd like to know if I can configure my router in such way that it uses the "Internet" port for the connection that comes from my DSL router.

The manual says that it is for use to connect a DSL or Cable modem, but I tried to connect my incoming connection to it, but when I do that, while my computers keep their lan connections I can't reach the DSL router to get the IP's, it fails and the computers lost the internet connectivity.