Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

13
  • +1, generally playing with power settings (changing between S2 and S3 in BIOS) helps with this behavior. I don't think two cases are ever the same though, good luck! Commented Jun 14, 2013 at 9:33
  • 2
    @DavidHoude: For +1 one should also click the up-arrow.
    – harrymc
    Commented Jun 14, 2013 at 10:08
  • i knew i was forgetting something ;) Commented Jun 14, 2013 at 11:16
  • Hibernation is off (it's running Windows Server 2008R2). I tried turned off WoL, which were the only two devices in powercfg -devicequery wake_armed. powercfg -energy reported some issues, but they were mostly with timers and high CPU usage, nothing that seemed to me like it would cause problems. I tried updating my bios, and the updater causes Windows to freeze. I didn't see any driver updates.
    – 0xFE
    Commented Jun 15, 2013 at 17:28
  • Does the problem happen if you boot in Safe mode? I understand it does happen with Clean boot, which I find somewhat unbelievable. Just before the problem arrived did you install anything or do Windows Update? If this happened recently enough, you might try rolling back to a previous system restore point.
    – harrymc
    Commented Jun 15, 2013 at 19:59