Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 31, 2018 at 10:45 comment added phuclv from a 32-bit cmd you can run %SystemRoot%\Sysnative\telnet to get the 64-bit telnet
Jun 20, 2014 at 10:04 comment added Umber Ferrule PuTTY for telnet client FTW Using PuTTY as telnet client
Jun 10, 2013 at 16:25 vote accept Sampaio
Jun 10, 2013 at 16:25 comment added Sampaio After some experiment, here's what I have: 32bit command prompt was being called by a program I have, to create hotkeys, macros, and what not. Like you said, the program must be 32 bits. However, run>cmd, if done after the program is used to start cmd.exe, seems to be running either 32bits or 64bits cmd.exe, randomly. After a system reboot, run>cmd seems to work fine, always bringing up 64bits cmd, until the 32bit program is used, after which run>cmd starts alternating again. So, I believe the original problem is solved, leaving another, smaller one. But I guess I can work around that one.
Jun 10, 2013 at 0:22 comment added jdigital In a 32 bit process, system32 is remapped to SysWOW64, so you can't rely on the path system32\cmd.exe without knowing the type of the process that invoked it. Regarding why 32 bit cmd.exe is being called, this is a result of how it is invoked. Can you provide more details?
Jun 9, 2013 at 23:50 comment added Sampaio Good idea. I checked, and there is indeed *32 next to the process. However, in the actual command propt window, the path is system32\cmd.exe. Uhm... Edit: Some times the process does not have the *32, in which cases telnet works just fine. So, the question, I believe, is why sometimes 32bits cmd.exe is called, and why 32bits cmd.exe appears as having the path system32\cmd.exe, on the console window
Jun 9, 2013 at 22:13 comment added jdigital The behavior you're describing is what you'd see if running a 32 bit command prompt. Run cmd.exe, then go to the Task Manager and click on the Processes tab. Sort by Image Name (click on the Image Name column) and look at all cmd.exe processes. Do any of them have *32 next to them?
Jun 9, 2013 at 18:33 comment added Sampaio I have checked it is runnig the command prompt from system32. I have started it whith Run, typing cmd, I have actually started it from the system32 folder, by double-clicking. Like I said in the question, I have tried typing "telnet" in both command prompts: from the system32 and the syswow64 directories. Regardless of which one I choose, it looks for the files in syswow64, for some reason.
Jun 9, 2013 at 2:26 history answered jdigital CC BY-SA 3.0